Latinx, Latino/a Studies

The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.

Cuban Heritage Collection digital collections with digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection.

The ICAA Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art digital archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.

Archive of oral histories of Latinx artists produced by University of Notre Dame's Institute for Latino Studies.

The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.

The Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library (HIDVL) is the first major digital video library of performance practices in the Americas. Created in partnership with NYU Libraries and with the support of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, this growing repository guarantees historical preservation and free, online access to almost 900 hours of video through the Hemispheric Institute website. A trilingual Profile (English, Spanish and Portuguese) is created for each collection, contextualizing the videos with detailed production information, synopses, image galleries, texts, interviews, bibliographies and additional materials. Artists and organizations always retain the copyright to all their videos, as well as the original material, which is returned after digitization. With video documentation spanning from the 1970’s to the present, the collections seek to promote dialogue and a deeper understanding of performance and politics in the Americas.

Find materials related to Chicano/Latino arts by searching the California Digital Library. The result of a multi-year project of the California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives.

Includes country and comparative data, including many country profiles (with links) and US trends.

Includes fact book that provides a snapshot of migration and remittances for all countries, regions and income groups of the world, annual remittances data, bilateral migration matrix, and some downloadable datasets.

Profiles provide high level data on populations, including foreign born populations. Tables provide detailed data.

Includes foreign born population data as well as working papers and publications.

Topics include naturalization, refugees, apprehensions, deportations, etc. Additional statistical reports are listed under the "Publications" link.

Rare Books and Special Collections holds a collection of 62 fine press, chapbooks, posters, and zines from La Impresora Print Collective in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

This collection consists of twentieth-century ephemera relating to Latinx culture. Significant topics represented in the ephemera include migrant laborers, César Chávez, and grape boycotts; Mexican-American socio-economic conditions, education, civil rights, and employment; illegal immigration; feminism; and Latin-American and Mexican culture, including art, history, politics, and literature. Materials include pamphlets, reports, dissertations, journal articles, magazines, and newspapers.

The Ricardo Parra and Olga Villa Parra Papers include collected writings and photographs related to the Chicano experience in the midwestern United States. Of particular note is a set of the Midwest Council of La Raza newsletter, Los Desarraigados, 1972-1978 and photographs and slides that document participation in Midwestern boycotts, demonstrations, and meetings. Also includes a 300+ page draft manuscript on the social and cultural organization of Mexicans throughout the Midwest, aimed to provide anecdotal narratives on the ordinary lives and to document the distinct yet interwoven generational stories as well as a 350+ page newspaper documentary history of the Chicano community in South Bend, Indiana.