Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Microfilm in the Notre Dame Archives

Scope and content of microfilm in the archives, with advice on how to use particularly challenging collections.

Congregation of Holy Cross

Of the 120 reels of microfilm from the Congregation of Holy Cross, 64 reels document the Indiana Province, 1832-1950, 55 reels document the Canadian Province, 1763-1954, and one reel documents the general administration.

Josephite Fathers

The twenty-five reels of our Josephite collection, 1881-1964, contain correspondence of American provincials, records of St. Joseph's Seminary and Novitiate, records of Epiphany School, announcements from St Francis Xavier Church, and the Josephite publication Colored Harvest, 1888-1960.

Sisters of Charity of Nazareth, Kentucky

We have ten reels of microfilm representing the Sisters of Charity of Nazareth, Kentucky, 1782-1977. This collection includes letters, manuscripts, and typewritten transcripts of letter books and manuscripts, records of governance, and documentation of the interactions of the sisters with bishops, priests, and lay people.

Vincentians

The microfilm of our Vincentian collection (Congregation of the Mission, 1801-1854, four reels) consists chiefly of correspondence received by John Timon, C.M., much of it dating from his time at St. Mary-of-the-Barrens, Perryville, Missouri.

Sisters of Loretto

We have two reels of microfilm concerning the Sisters of Loretto at the Foot of the Cross, 1806-1960, containing letters and typewritten transcripts of letters written by or to the sisters, with related material documenting the early history of the Catholic Church in Kentucky.

Poor Handmaids of Jesus Christ

As a small part of a large collection of records from the Poor Handmaids we have two reels of microfilm, one containing images of letters from the generalate in Dernbach, 1880-1881, and the other containing the PHJC publication Word Gathering, volumes 1 through 7, 1978-1986.

Oblate Sisters of Providence

From the Oblate Sisters of Providence we have on one reel of microfilm a rule book dating from 1829, in French and English, providing insight into the life and charism of this diocesan congregation of African American sisters.