Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Microfilm in the Notre Dame Archives

Scope and content of microfilm in the archives, with advice on how to use particularly challenging collections.

Theodore M. Hesburgh Papers

Father Hesburgh's papers include 141 reels of microfilm documenting his work with the United States Commission on Civil Rights, 1958-1973. The detailed finding aid for this microfilm relies on a system of document numbers devised by the Center for Human and Civil Rights at Notre Dame. The numbers appear on he first page of each document, generally in the upper right corner, and provide a helpful correlation between the description and the images of the documents themselves. The microfilm includes USCCR Reports, Press Releases, Statements, Resolutions, Transcripts, Court Material, Correspondence, Proposals, Minutes, Complaint Flowcharts, Budget and Appropriations Material, Pamphlets, Feature Articles, Clippings, and Hearings. The collection also includes some records of the Commission on Race and Housing, and State Advisory Committees.

David Bowman Papers

The papers of Father David Bowman, S.J., include 66 reels of microfilm reflecting his interest in ecumenism, race relations, peace, the troubles in Northern Ireland, abortion, human sexuality, theology, liturgy, the Second Vatican Council, the Jesuits, and the National Council of Churches of Christ. A Jesuit priest, Father Bowman was author of U.S. Catholic Ecumenism -- Ten Years Later and co-author, with Lynne Shivers, of More Than the Troubles: a Common Sense View of the Northern Ireland Conflict.

Albert J. Nevins Papers

The 45 reels of Albert J. Nevins Papers (1949-1980) document his office activities, Field Afar, the Catholic Press Association, the Catholic League for Religious and Civil Rights, the Inter-American Press Association, and World Campus, and include his writings and research files. Father Nevins was a Maryknoll missionary who served as editor of Maryknoll Magazine and Our Sunday Visitor.

Howard A. Glickstein

The Howard A. Glickstein Papers (37 reels of microfilm) include court cases and subject files concerning civil rights in the 1960s. Glickstein served as staff director and general counsel of the United States Commission on Civil Rights in the 1960s and as director of the University of Notre Dame Center for Civil Rights, 1973-1975.

Ivan Mestrovic

The papers of sculptor Ivan Mestrovic (30 reels) provide a preservation copy of an important collection held by the University of Notre Dame Archives. The Mestrovic files 1924-1989, contain correspondence dealing with his approach to art; arrangements for exhibits, publications, and castings of his sculpture; the commissioning and sale of his work; the history and politics of Croatia, Serbia, and other Yugoslav republics; the events and aftermath of World War II; and the plight of friends who remained behind in Yugoslavia after the war. Correspondents include Ljubo Babic, Milan Curcin, Cvito Fiskovic, Josip Hamm, Fedor Kabalin, Vladko Macek, Dominik Mandic OFM, Pavle Ostovic, Aloysius Cardinal Stepinac, Josip Broz Tito, Ante Trumbic, Maurice Lavanoux, Nikola Tesla, Milan Marjanovic, Malvina Hoffman, and John Foster Dulles.

Gilbert Cardenas

The 27 reels of Gilbert Cardenas Papers focus on Mexican Americans and such issues as immigration, farm labor, and Chicanos in the Midwest. Once Director of the Centro de Estudios Chicanos at the University of Notre Dame, Gilbert Cardenas went on to serve as a professor at the University of Texas, Austin. He returned to Notre Dame as holder of the Samora Chair in Latino Studies, Director of Latino Studies, Professor of Sociology, and Fellow of the Kellogg Institute.

John Ireland

The microfilm collection of Archbishop John Ireland's Papers (23 reels of microfilm), 1825-1948, is based on material held chiefly by the Catholic Historical Society of St. Paul, with some material from the Archives of the Diocese of Duluth, St. John's Abbey Archives, the Archives of the College of St. Thomas, and the Archives of the Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis. John Ireland (1838-1918) served as the first archbishop of Saint Paul, Minnesota (1888-1918). He was involved in the Americanism controversy.

Robert Emmet Lucey

The 22 reels of Archbishop Lucey's microfilm document his trip to South Vietnam as an observer of the 1967 election, his friendship with Lyndon Johnson, his participation in the Second Vatican Council, the papal encyclical Humanae Vitae, civil rights, Latin America, and the plight of the migrant farm worker; with records relating to the archbishop's residence in San Antonio; sermons, invitations, programs, clippings and memorabilia from anniversary celebrations; correspondence concerning the Vietnam War; and records of the Bishops' Committee for the Spanish Speaking (1944-1970), the Catholic Council for the Spanish Speaking (1946-1962), the Bishops' Committee for Catholic Migrant Labor (1952-1953), and the Confraternity of Christian Doctrine (1941-1970). Lucey served as Archbishop of San Antonio, 1941-1969, and implemented papal directives on social justice, Catholic Action and liturgical renewal. In 1945 the U.S. bishops established a Committee for the Spanish-Speaking, with its permanent headquarters in San Antonio, designed to provide for the religious, social, economic, educational and cultural advancement of Mexican-Americans. In 1964 it merged with the Bishops' Committee for Migrant Workers.

John A. Poirier

The John A. Poirier Papers (12 reels of microfilm) consist of notes and reports dealing with quantum mechanics, nuclear theory, and electronic circuits, photocopied journal articles, drafts of writings, and a dissertation on threshold enhancement by James J. Phelan. John A. Poirier served at Notre Dame as a professor of physics starting in 1961.