Library Guides: Chemistry: Structures, Reactions, Properties, and Spectra

Properties and Spectra

CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Includes several chemical dictionaries, and the CRC handbook of chemistry and physics. Usage info: Licensed for 2 simultaneous users.

ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 58 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Merck Index
The Merck Index contains brief entries on 11,500+ compounds. The current print edition can be found in the Reference Collection (first floor) of the Hesburgh Library.

NIST chemistry webbook This link opens in a new window
Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
Reaxys, innovation from CrossFire Beilstein This link opens in a new window
Web access to experimental substance and reaction data and bibliographic data housed in the Beilstein, Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry databases.

SciFinder Web This link opens in a new window
Provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. Search by topic, author, CAS Registry Numbers, patent number, CAS abstract number, chemical name, chemical structure, and formula. Usage info: Licensed for six simultaneous users.

EMBL
Founded in 1974, EMBL is Europe’s flagship laboratory for the life sciences – an intergovernmental organisation with more than 80 independent research groups covering the spectrum of molecular biology. It operates across six sites: Heidelberg, Barcelona, Hamburg, Grenoble, Monterotondo and EMBL-EBI Hinxton.

Reaxys, innovation from CrossFire Beilstein This link opens in a new window
Web access to experimental substance and reaction data and bibliographic data housed in the Beilstein, Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry databases.
SciFinder Web This link opens in a new window
Provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. Search by topic, author, CAS Registry Numbers, patent number, CAS abstract number, chemical name, chemical structure, and formula. Usage info: Licensed for six simultaneous users.
WebCSD (Cambridge structural database) This link opens in a new window
Web interface to Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) without the need to install client software. Contains searchable published crystallographic data on organic, organometallic, and metal complex structures whose 3D structures have been determined using X-ray diffraction or neutron diffraction. Access info: Pop-up blocking needs to be disabled. When presented with the Digital Signature error message, click on Run.