Skip to main content

CSEM 23102 – Clothes Make the Man

Runaway Advertisements


 

Manuscript and Printed Materials--Online

Free online collections of primary sources. Using these resources researchers can search libraries' holdings across the US and Canada, often accessing full-text sources.

The Catholic Research Resources Alliance's Catholic Portal
The Internet Archive
The Digital Public Library of America
Ar​chiveGrid
Hathi Trust
 



Subject-based primary source databases (searchable through the Databases tab on the Library home page):

American Broadsides and Ephemera
Offers searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
A collection of historical content on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. 

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2
Manuscript, book, and newspaper content on Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and women’s rights from the eighteenth through the twentieth centuries. 

Colonial America
When completed in 2019, this database will include all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London, plus all extracted documents associated with them.

Early American Imprints, 1639-1800
Search or browse the content of books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints 

The Early Republic
Searchable database of primary material documenting the actions, debates, and thoughts of the First Federal Congress and its members.

Eighteenth-Century Collections Online
A comprehensive searchable digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. 

Empire Online
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
A web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.

The Making of the Modern World, 1450-1850
Full-text and full-page-image access to books from the 1460-1850 period, and pre-1906 serials, focusing on economics interpreted in the widest sense.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries, 1750 - 1950
More than 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women from the eighteenth century through the mid-twentifeth, from the collection of American Antiquarian Society.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Provides access to some 150,000 pages of letters and diaries of 1,300+ women writing from Colonial times to 1950. Writers reflect all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, and many geographical regions.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, colonialism, slavery and abolition, and Native Americans.

Historical News Sources

America's Historical Newspapers
Search more than 1,000 US historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998 [and beyond], including titles from all 50 states.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and the Observer
Online coverage from 1791-2003.

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
Searchable database of full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London.

Periodical Literature

American Periodicals
Provides digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1741 to the twentieth century.

ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Indexes periodicals, essay collections, church documents, papal documents and electronic resources expressly addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism. 

British Periodicals
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Eighteenth Century Journals
Brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.

Periodicals Index Online
Index to millions of articles in over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published beginning 1770. Its scope is worldwide, covering major Western languages.