Background Information - CSEM 23102 – Clothes Make the Man - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

Overview

Welcome to the research guide for the CSEM: Clothes Make the Man. Here you will find print and online resources that will help you in your research. It will also offer suggestions for how to search for print and electronic holdings at Hesburgh Libraries. Although not comprehensive, it serves as a place to begin your research.

Related libguides include: American Studies; Art, Art History, and Design; History, United States and Canada; and History, Western Europe, among others.

Colonial America and the Early Republic

For general encyclopedias and guides for American history, see the History, United States and Canada libguide.

The African American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience
The history of African Americans from pre-colonial times to the present.

Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window
Brings together a large range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.

The Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America
Call Number: Hesburgh Library, 10th Floor Reading Room, non-circulating, Ref. E 188 .E63 1990

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 This link opens in a new window
It documents the range of the African American experience from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass.
Oxford bibliographies online This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on many subjects. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford handbooks online This link opens in a new window
Oxford handbooks contain articles by scholars at the top of their field.

Clothing and Material Culture

The Dictionary of Fashion History
Call Number: Hesburgh Library General Collection, GT 507 .C79 2017
The Encyclopaedia of Fashion
Call Number: Hesburgh Library Reference (non-circulating), GT 507 .O53 1986
Ethnic Dress in the United States: A Cultural Encyclopedia
Call Number: Hesburgh Library General Collection, GT 605 .E35 2015
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Costume and Fashion: From 1066 to the Present
Call Number: Hesburgh Library Reference (non-circulating), GT 730 .C37 2006
Material Culture in America: Understanding Everyday Life
Call Number: Lower Level - Ranges 1-38, GN 560 .U6 M37 2008
Women in Early America: Struggle, Survival, and Freedom in a New World
Call Number: Hesburgh Library General Collection, HQ 1416 .M395 2004
World of a Slave: Encyclopedia of the Material Life of Slaves in the United States
Call Number: Hesburgh Library, 10th Floor Reading Room, non-circulating, Ref. E 441 .W895 2011