Library Guides: History of Consumption and Fashion: Background Information

Overview

This libguide offers research strategies for the broad topic of consumption, but starts with the narrower topic of fashion history.

Dictionaries

The A to Z of the Fashion Industry by Francesca Sterlacci
The Dictionary of Fashion History by Valerie Cumming; C. W. Cunnington; P. E. Cunnington
Call Number: General Collection • GT 507 .C79 2017
Historical Dictionary of the Fashion Industry by Francesca Sterlacci
Call Number: General Collection • TT 494 .S84 2017

Picken, Mary Brooks, The Language of Fashion: Dictionary And Digest of Fabric, Sewing And Dress. New York, N.Y: Mary Brooks Picken school, incorporated, 1939.

Encyclopedias and Guides

Clothing and fashion : American fashion from head to toe
This four-volume encyclopedia examines the historical significance of fashion trends, revealing the social and cultural connections of clothing from the precolonial times to the present day.
The Oxford Handbook of the History of Consumption
An overview of how our understanding of consumption in history has changed in the last generation.
The Oxford Handbook of Political Consumerism

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion This link opens in a new window
A survey of clothing, costume and fashion from a wide range of historical eras.

Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands Series
Information highlighting 600 products by brand name, emphasizing brands prominent since 1950.
Encyclopedia of the Consumer Movement
A reference for the consumer movement, with particular attention to the laws and regulations intended to protect consumers.

Subject Headings

Subject headings are tags that are attached to library materials, allowing users to see everything tagged with that subject. Here are some subject headings relevant for consumption.

Consumer
Consumer Behavior
Consumers' preferences -- United States [or other location]
Consumption [Economics] -- History

Clothing and dress -- History
Clothing and dress -- United States -- History
Fashion -- History
Fashion -- United States -- History