Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
Provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s.
An ongoing project to preserve craft pattern publications in the public domain. Most of these scans have been graphically edited to make them easier to see. They are freely available for educational, personal, and artistic uses.
Provides a tool for researchers and designers to recreate or date clothing from 1847 to present. Collections from the US, Canada, and the UK are represented in the database which functions like a Union Catalog of pattern collections. The Pattern Archive is a project of the US Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT) Costume Commission.
Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
A core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines from Cornell University. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals.
Search over 14 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than three million online images, audio and video files, and blog posts.
A digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression, from Harvard University's library holdings. Provide access to digitized books (over 2000), manuscripts (10,000 pages) and images (1,000) from the collections of Harvard University Libraries and Museums on the topic of women in the U.S. economy from 1870-1930.
Explore the phenomenon of world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos.
Provides access to historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws, information about members of Congress.
CPSC is charged with protecting the public from unreasonable risks of injury or death associated with the use of consumer products under the agency's jurisdiction.
The Making of America, a collaborative project on US social history, 1850-1877, by Cornell University and the University of Michigan
A searchable archive of 12 popular women's interest magazines, dating from the late nineteenth century through 2005. Titles include Better Homes and Gardens, Essence, Good Housekeeping, and Redbook.
The Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation & Archives is the unit of Catherwood Library that collects, preserves, and makes accessible special collections pertaining to the history of the workplace and labor relations. This collection holds the International Ladies' Garment Workers' Union records, among others.
