English Language and Literature

Provides citations and indexing to articles, books, dissertations, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published worldwide since 1920 pertaining to bibliography and English language and literature. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.

Provides a free-of-charge, full-text collection of selected literature, reference and verse. Includes works such as the Oxford Shakespeare, Columbia encyclopedia, Roget's Thesaurus, the Harvard classics, Bartlett's familiar quotations, and Columbia gazetteer.

Indexes hundreds of biographical sources covering individuals, living and dead, from every field of activity worldwide.

Book Review Digest Plus is an essential library tool that brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources. Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of the reviews are serious, academic works. This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers' advisory and collection development.

In addition to weekly issues and job listings, contains daily updates on a variety of topics of interest in higher education, which are not archived.

DARE does not include words that are commonly used throughout the United States, but rather focuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. It includes audio clips and quotations from the DARE Survey conducted 1965-1970, and an interactive map in addition to the maps that were included in the print version.

The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English. Includes the first release of the letter H, containing some 2,956 headwords, as well as revised versions of the eight previously published fascicles (1986-2007).

A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

"... a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods. Texts of word-entries whose headword (source) or explanation (target) language is English tell what speakers of English thought about their tongue in the period served by the Short-title and Wing catalogues, from the advent of printing to about 1700."--Introduction.

Provides profiles of the lives and works of important world authors whose works are available in English. Includes coverage of English, American, Canadian, German and Russian literatures with growing coverage of French, Italian, Japanese, Classical Greek, Latin, Hispanic and East European literatures.

Provides relevant information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Includes full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature and children's literature. Also includes volumes of fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres.

Provides biographical, bibliographical, and critical content on literary figures from all time periods; draws on Gale Group's Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography; selected full text from Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism; includes full text articles from numerous literary journals and periodicals.

Includes the complete contents of 31 sets of reference books, including nearly 20 Masterplots and Masterplots II titles, the Cyclopedia of world authors, the Cyclopedia of literary characters, as well as 10 years of Magill's literary annual and Magill book reviews.

Provides integrated access to three major Middle English electronic resources: the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources, including a large collection of Middle English texts.

Presents detailed information on more than 7,100 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, with 4,400 currently indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines.

Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

Contains extensive book reviews covering literature, culture, and current affairs.

Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this English-Spanish dictionary.

Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this Spanish-English dictionary.

"fully searchable content from Oxford's largest modern English dictionaries and thesauruses ... comprehensive coverage of British, US, and World English -- with audio pronunciations ... detailed writing, grammar, and spelling guidance"--About page.

The classic, authoritative biographical source for British history. Usage info: Licensed for 3 simultaneous users.

A complete text of the second edition of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form. Contains the complete text of the 20-volume second edition together with its 3-volume additions series.

Essential vocabulary, clear translations, and usage and grammar help in this English-Spanish diction

Essential vocabulary, clear translations, and usage and grammar help in this Spanish-English dictionary.

Full-text articles from journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.

Provides searchable full-text access to the Times Literary Supplement from 1902. Includes more than 300,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles on writers, current theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions.

Consists of searchable, digitized page images from more than 1,500 18th and 19th century American periodicals. Derived from the American periodicals series microform collection I, II, and III.

Provides citations and indexing to articles, books, dissertations, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published worldwide since 1920 pertaining to bibliography and English language and literature. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.

Online version. "The Bibliography of American Literature (9 vols, Yale University Press, 1955-1991) provides nearly 40,000 records of literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930"--About BAL.

A list of recovered writers and located texts, canonical and non-canonical, identifying many unknown writers and familiar figures, and also women refugees such as the recusants, women in the colonies, Marrano women (Anusot), women translators, and English women writers in French, Greek, Latin, Spanish, Irish Gaelic, Scottish Gaelic and Welsh.

British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century (the same periodicals as are covered in the UMI microfilm collection "Early British Periodicals"). It includes millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Access info: Content presented as images online, or can be downloaded in PDF format for viewing off-line. No plugins required to view images online.

"... lists over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly in Britain and North America, mainly, but not exclusively, in English, from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries."--Publisher's website.

Indexes essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Areas covered include the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.

Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for 3,500+ scholarly journals and general interest periodicals embracing all academic disciplines (citations only for The New York Times). Search can be limited to book reviews.

A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.

Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals--of which 470 are peer-reviewed--dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more. Same contents as offered in Humanities abstracts, but with full text articles or links to full text.

"...provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals ... includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. ... includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works." -- EBSCOhost database description

"... abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences... provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations."--Database guide.

A virtual library containing more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 200+ full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users

A listing of all manuscripts and editions of Milton's works, all studies and critical statements of Milton's life and works, allusions, quotations, and significant imitations.

Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present includes biographical and writing career entries on British women writers, selected non-British or international women writers, and selected British and international men. Also includes dated items representing events and processes (in the accounts of these writers, but also in the areas of history, science, medicine, economics, the law, and other contexts).

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on American literature and the American literary tradition over the past 500 years. Includes perspectives on postmodern theory, debates about the canon, slave narratives, comic books, and other topics while inviting trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, politics, and women's studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on British and Irish literature, including perspectives from such fields as history, cultural studies, political science, and philosophy. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the literature of the Victorian period, which encompasses the reign of Queen Victoria from 1837 to 1901. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Full text searchable journal collection of 350+ periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences (a subset of Periodicals index online). See Periodicals index online for more extensive indexing and links to selected full text articles.

Index to millions of articles in over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published beginning 1770 or subsequently; scope is worldwide, covering major Western languages. Complete PCI Index, including links to selected full text articles. Only the index is searchable.

Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.

A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

When complete, will provide annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced since 1900. Each year coverage moves forward one year and backwards at least three years.

Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. Includes more than 1,200 titles.

Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African-American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Usage info: Licensed for four simultaneous users.

A growing collection allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998 [and beyond], including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others.

Contains over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets, covering the Colonial period to the early 20th century and drawn from over 1,200 printed sources. Usage info: Licensed for four concurrent users.

Index to poetry, including full-text and excerpts of some poems. Contains the contents of: Columbia Granger's index to poetry in anthologies (eds. 8-12), Columbia Granger's index to poetry in collected and selected works, Classic hundred poems, Columbia Granger's index to African-American poetry, as well as new content not published previously in print.

Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Access info: Content presented as images online, or can be downloaded in PDF format for viewing off-line. No plugins required to view images online.

Notre Dame has access to Collections 2, 4, 7, 8,10-11, 14-16, 18, 20. Please refer to the About page for a descriptions of the individual collections.

Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through the close of the seventeenth century. The resource represents a diverse array of printed sources and opens the door to some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books. All works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, fall within the scope of the project, together with all pre-1701 works in European languages printed further afield. Builds upon and complements Early English Books Online (EEBO) and is largely concerned with non-Anglophone materials; however, books in English or printed in the English-speaking world that are already represented in EEBO are not omitted from Early European Books where they form an integral element of the predominantly non-Anglophone collections that have been made available for digital capture. Full-colour, high-resolution (400 ppi) facsimile images scanned directly from the original printed sources. Each item in the collection is captured in its entirety, complete with its binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages, and any loose inser

A comprehensive searchable digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.

Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1680-1835 with integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II), the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III), Chetham's Library in Manchester and Brotherton Library, University of Leeds (Eighteenth Century Journals IV), and Birmingham Central Library, British Library, Cambridge University Library and Liverpool John Moores University Library(Eighteenth Century Journals V). "The titles chosen for this project have been screened carefully against EEBO, Early English Newspapers and ECCO so that there is minimal overlap with these projects."--Introduction.

Searchable full text of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. Includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from established country or university towns.

"When complete it will make available full runs of nearly 600 titles ... of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions ..."--"About" page.

"When complete it will make available full runs of nearly 600 titles ... of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions ..."--"About" page.

Features rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous collection at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare's plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries. Documents are indexed by genre, country, theatre, associated names, and key search terms. The prompt books are supplemented by souvenir copies, ephemera, illustrations and drawings, photographs, music scores, and correspondence.

Provides detailed indexing for hundreds of thousands of short stories, this database is for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, and for those researching the body of work of a particular literary figure. The periodicals included are those indexed in Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index..

Searchable database of full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-1985. Digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files. Includes advertisements, illustrations, and photos.

Provides searchable full-text access to the Times Literary Supplement from 1902. Includes more than 300,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles on writers, current theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions.

Searchable index, with links to some full text, to 45 major Victorian periodicals. While many articles written for Victorian periodicals were published anonymously or under pseudonyms, this index identifies the authors of articles and provides a bibliography for each contributor.