English Language and Literature

Consists of searchable, digitized page images from more than 1,500 18th and 19th century American periodicals. Derived from the American periodicals series microform collection I, II, and III.

British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century (the same periodicals as are covered in the UMI microfilm collection "Early British Periodicals"). It includes millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for 3,500+ scholarly journals and general interest periodicals embracing all academic disciplines (citations only for The New York Times). Search can be limited to book reviews.

"...provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals ... includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. ... includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works." -- EBSCOhost database description

"... abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences... provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations."--Database guide.

Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

Full text searchable journal collection of 350+ periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences (a subset of Periodicals index online). See Periodicals index online for more extensive indexing and links to selected full text articles.

Index to millions of articles in over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published beginning 1770 or subsequently; scope is worldwide, covering major Western languages. Complete PCI Index, including links to selected full text articles. Only the index is searchable.

When complete, will provide annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced since 1900. Each year coverage moves forward one year and backwards at least three years.

A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.

Provides citations and indexing to articles, books, dissertations, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published worldwide since 1920 pertaining to bibliography and English language and literature. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.

Online version. "The Bibliography of American Literature (9 vols, Yale University Press, 1955-1991) provides nearly 40,000 records of literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930"--About BAL.

Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The Bibliography aims to be as comprehensive as is practical for publications since 1900 and has been enriched by co-operation with other projects. Data from the London's Past Online project were added to the database in January 2003 and the first batch of data from Irish History Online was added in August 2004, with further batches from both projects being added later. From the end of 2006 the Bibliography has co-operated with teams working under the auspices of the Scottish Historical Review Trust which will henceforth edit the primarily Scottish titles in the database. All titles included in The Royal Historical Society Bibliography on CD-ROM (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1998) are included in the database (with the exception of unpublished theses). Usage info: Licensed for 3 simultaneous users.

A list of recovered writers and located texts, canonical and non-canonical, identifying many unknown writers and familiar figures, and also women refugees such as the recusants, women in the colonies, Marrano women (Anusot), women translators, and English women writers in French, Greek, Latin, Spanish, Irish Gaelic, Scottish Gaelic and Welsh.

Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Access info: Content presented as images online, or can be downloaded in PDF format for viewing off-line. No plugins required to view images online.

"... lists over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly in Britain and North America, mainly, but not exclusively, in English, from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries."--Publisher's website.

A virtual library containing more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 200+ full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users

Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present includes biographical and writing career entries on British women writers, selected non-British or international women writers, and selected British and international men. Also includes dated items representing events and processes (in the accounts of these writers, but also in the areas of history, science, medicine, economics, the law, and other contexts).

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on American literature and the American literary tradition over the past 500 years. Includes perspectives on postmodern theory, debates about the canon, slave narratives, comic books, and other topics while inviting trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, politics, and women's studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on British and Irish literature, including perspectives from such fields as history, cultural studies, political science, and philosophy. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the literature of the Victorian period, which encompasses the reign of Queen Victoria from 1837 to 1901. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

When complete, will provide annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced since 1900. Each year coverage moves forward one year and backwards at least three years.

Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.