Library Guides: European Studies: Thematic Resources

Themes in European Studies

Scholars in European Studies typically become engaged with a number of disciplines. Introductions to resources may be found in many of the Hesburgh Libraries' research guides. A selection of these guides are linked below.

Additionally, a number of subjects or themes are listed below, with links to important resources.

HESBURGH LIBRARY RESEARCH GUIDES

(a selection)

Cold War

Cold War : Global perspectives on East-West tensions, 1945-1991 This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of reports, publications, and news broadcasts offering firsthand analysis, descriptions, and viewpoints of every facet of the Cold War.
Socialism on film : the Cold War and international propaganda This link opens in a new window
"This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba"--Publisher's website.

Digital History: International History Declassified
It contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world on post-WWII topics: the Cold War, nuclear proliferation, etc.

Culture/Society

Mass observation online This link opens in a new window
Archives of Mass Observation, a large social research organization that collected data in the UK from the 1930s through the 1960s.
World's Fairs This link opens in a new window
Official records, publicity, artwork, artifacts and other primary source materials for more than 200 fairs, with a primary focus on the following nine fairs: 1851 Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations, London; 1876 Centennial International Exhibition, Philadelphia; 1889 Exposition Universelle, Paris; 1893 World's Columbian Exposition, Chicago; 1904 Louisiana Purchase Exposition, St. Louis; 1915 Panama Pacific International Exposition, San Francisco; 1933/34 Century of Progress International Exposition, Chicago; 1939/40 New York World's Fair, New York, and 1967 Expo '67, Montreal.

Race Relations

Black British History on Record
A guide to documents relating to black British history within The (Brtish) National Archives’ collections.
Black and Irish on Instagram
A social media archive of stories of Black Irish people.
Institute of Race Relations

Migration

Asylum and Migration (Eurostat Statistics Explained)
Information on asylum and migration on the European statistics website, Eurostat.
Global Internal Displacement Database
Database covering data from all over the world, provided by the Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre (IDMC) .
Eldis
Access to research on international development issues. The database includes over 50,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text of thousands of selected research and policy documents.
International Migration 2019: Highlights
Report produced by the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs.
International Migrant Stock 2019
Estimates of international migrants, data compiled by the United Nations Population Division.
MIPEX
Migration Integration Policy Index: A project to measure policies to integrate migrants in many countries.
Migration Data Portal
An access point to timely, comprehensive migration statistics and reliable information about migration data globally.
OECD International Migration Statistics
Data on migration provided by the OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development).

There are some very useful guides produced at other libraries. Please remember when using these guides that some of the resources and information might be specific to that institution.

Migration, Immigration, Diasporas, and Refugees, from Princeton University Library

Migration Studies: Data and Statistics, from the Bodleian Libraries, Oxford LibGuides..

World Wars

First World War This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from several archives and collections.

A Guide to World War I Material
The list of the Library of Congress WWI collection.
World War I
A directory with links to primary sources, organized by category. There is also a substantial list of other World War I online resources.
A Guide to World War II Materials (Library of Congress)
Nuremberg Trials Project
An open-access initiative to create and present digitized images or full-text versions of the Harvard Law School Library's Nuremberg documents, descriptions of each document, and general information about the trials.
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum