Library Guides: Film, Television and Theatre: Media: Physical and Streaming

Physical Media in ND Libraries

To find DVDs and other video collections in the Hesburgh Libraries, often a simple search will suffice, such as:

dvd deadwood
dvd scorsese de niro
dvd film noir

For more advanced searching, you can select "Videos" in the "Material Type" dropdown menu under the "Advanced Search" option in the catalog or you can use the special video recordings search.

Locating Media in Hesburgh Library

DVDs and other video formats are kept in the Lower Level. Media is shelved in a closed area, not available for physical browsing. Use the ND Catalog to request a video, which will be delivered to the Self Service Hold Shelf near the north entrance on the main level. Most materials can be checked out for seven days, or can be viewed with library equipment.

To find media in languages other than English, look down the left side "Refine my results" column for a "Language" section:

Streaming Collections: Library Subscriptions

Audio drama : L.A. Theatre Works collection This link opens in a new window
300+ dramatic works in streaming audio from the L.A. Theatre Works radio theatre company.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Includes full texts of plays from across the history of the theatre, ranging from Aeschylus to the present day. Includes non-English-language works in translation, scholarly and critical editions, first night program texts, and critical analysis and contextual information. Critical interpretations, theatre history surveys and major reference works on authors, movements, practitioners, periods and genres are included alongside performance and practitioner texts, acting and backstage guides. Included are collections: Nick Hern Books Modern Plays; Aurora Metro Books; Playwrights Canada Press; BBC Drama Films and Documentaries; Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy on Screen; Hollow Crown; Maxine Peake as Hamlet; National Theatre Collection; RSC Live collection (2013-2019); Shakespeare Globe on Screen (2008-2018); Shakespeare's Heroes and Villains: Steven Berkoff; Shakespeare in the Present: Patsy Rodenburg, Masterclass; Stage on Screen; Critical Studies and Performance Practice; L.A. Theatre Works. The Drama Online core collection features 1200 titles from the pre-eminent theatre lists from Bloomsbury's Methuen Drama and Arden Shakespeare imprints, as well as Faber and Faber Ltd. Production photos from the Victoria and Albert Museum Performance Archive and The American Shakespeare Center. Also included is the video of the "Hollow Crown" series.

Kanopy
On-demand, revolving streaming video for selected documentaries and theatrical releases.

Screen studies (Bloomsbury) This link opens in a new window
A collection of screenplays and books on film, film genres, filmmakers, and film making techniques published by Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber, supplemented by an interactive timeline of cinema history. The contents are searchable or browsable (by people, themes, genres, styles, and individual films) across a single platform.
Silent film online This link opens in a new window
Brings together films which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. The database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Provides colleges and universities with an academic streaming collection consisting of films, documentaries and TV shows.

Theatre and Drama Premium

Includes 750 hours of filmed stage performances, documentaries, and video training materials; 300 audio plays, and 13,500 full-text plays, along with contextualizing materials such as designs.

Theatre in video This link opens in a new window
This browsable and searchable database contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions

Streaming Guides

Just Watch
Search for a specific movie or TV show to find out where to watch it legally online.

Decider.com

Netflix: Personal Subscriptions

Most Netflix films are available "only for your personal, noncommercial use," according to the Netflix End User License Agreement. If an individual has a personal subscription to Netflix, the company makes a few dozen of its original documentaries available for wider uses, such as showing in a classroom or to a community group. To see the list of titles available this way, go to media.netflix.com then to "Only on Netflix." Click on "All Alphabetical" and browse titles. When viewing a film's details, those that are available for wider uses will include an explicit "Grant of Permission for Educational Screenings." (As an example, see the title: 13th.)

Specialized DVD Sources

DaaVeeDee
Advertises itself as having "the largest selection of foreign, independent, arthouse, classic and cult import DVDs and Blu-Ray in the U.S.A."
YesAsia
YesAsia lists Chinese, Japanese and Korean movies, TV, games, and anime.

Film, Television and Theatre