The Fall season is here, and pumpkin spice is back on the menu! Your class has been hired to research the market context for a new product launch by Starbucks. The CEO needs your teams to provide an overview of the company, industry, and market context in which Starbucks operates, so they can make an informed decision on launching a new coffee flavor.
As a class, each team will be working in the role of a different type of business analyst, using a specific database to find information about Starbucks and the coffee market. Each team will send a representative to demonstrate their assigned database to class. From the home page of the database, the representative will show the class how they found their information. As you work, be sure to answer the following questions
Team 1 and 2 - Industry Analysts
Go to the database IBISWorld.
Find the report for the primary industry in which Starbucks operates, Coffee & Snack Shops in the US.
Bonus question: What is the NAICS code for each industry you looked at? Can you find the official government definition of the NAICS code for each industry (hint the answer is not in IBISWorld)
Team 3 and 4 - Market Analysts
Go to the database Mintel.
Search coffee in the database and find the most recent coffee and rtd report.
Based on the report, what two demographics make the primary target consumer for coffee?
What key demographic trend is causing this dynamic?
Bonus Question: The report uses various data infographics to back its claims, what is the sample size of the survey from which the data came from?
Team 5 and 6 - Company Analysts
Sign into okta.nd.edu and click the application icon for Capital IQ to enter the database
Using the search bar on the home page of the database, navigate to the Starbucks company profile page.
Find the Channel Development revenue for Starbucks for the years 2021, 2022, and 2023.
What does "Channel Development" mean in this context?
Has it increased or decreased over the past 3 years?
Bonus Question: Try to find the 2023 10-K form for Starbucks. What issues related to human capital do they cite in this report that could impact Starbucks' business prospects?
Team 7 and 8 - Data Analysts
Take the following link to the database Statista.
Search coffee united states and find the Target Audience: Coffee Drinkers in the United States report.
Using data from the report describe the demographic attributes that make up the key consumer market segment of Coffee Drinkers in the United States.
Bonus Question: Find the data series titled Past-day coffee consumption in the United States in 2023, by type of coffee. What organization is responsible for producing the data, and how much would it cost to access the report that contains the original data?