Library Guides: Foundations of Marketing (Riley): Consumer and Client Information

Market Research

Resources on this page focus primarily on research pertaining to the consumer. Here you will find answers to questions relating to consumer preferences, brand perceptions, and market segments. This will include data surrounding the demographics of potential market areas. These can be invaluable in determining the target consumer for your line extension or brand extension as they will give insight into how well received your proposed solution may be by a market.

Search terms related to brands or consumer demographic labels tend to work well in these databases.

Mintel Academic
Read and acknowledge the Permissions and Prohibitions to access the database.
Provides access to reports about popular consumer trends, with daily updates on the latest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy. Market data includes size, segmentation and forecasts. Notably this resource documents the result of numerous consumer surveys showing the preferences and usage patterns of brands by various demographic groups.
Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on a variety of topics.
Passport (Euromonitor International)
You must accept the Terms and Conditions to access the database.
Provides access to brand level data from many major companies. This database also focuses on market regions extending internationally beyond the United States, with reports and data on the brand and market shares by country.
SimplyAnalytics
Select "Sign in as a guest" if you do not want to create an account. Create an account if you wish to save your work. Licensed for 5 simultaneous users.
A mapping application for creating professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the U.S. Provides data on topics such as population, income levels, demographic segmentation, and consumer spending that could be used to build a target consumer profile.

Foundations of Marketing (Riley)

Need help? Ask a Business Librarian!

Librarians

Market Research