Skip to main content

HIST 13184 — History University Seminar (Pierce)

Citing Sources

APA
The Purdue Online Writing Lab resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.

MLA
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (8th ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Chicago
The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Now offering the full contents of the 16th and 15th editions, it is the must-have reference for everyone who works with words.

Citing Theological Resources

Library guide to Citing Theological Sources (St. Thomas University)

  • Vatican II Documents
  • Papal Encyclical Letters
  • Citing the Summa Theologica/Thomas Aquinas
  • Citing Bible Reference Sources
  • How to Cite the Bible
  • Anniversary documents commenting on and celebrating previous encyclical letters
  • The Catechicsm and other first use models
  • Canon Law
  • Papal Decrees
  • Apostolic Letters
  • Apostolic Exhortations

Citation Managers

New RefWorks™ is the latest version of the RefWorks citation management software designed to help you save, organize and format bibliographic citations that you find in databases such as the ND Catalog, OneSearch, Google Scholar, Web of Science, and more.

RefWorks’ Write-n-Cite software allows you to add and format citations in Word documents in a wide variety of citation styles. It is the officially supported citation and research manager software at the University of Notre Dame.

EndNote™ is reference management software with features to keep all your references and reference-related materials in a searchable personal library. Endnote also synchronize your references between up to three of your personal computers, an online library, and your iPad, through EndNote sync. (You must be the owner and user of all three computers.)

Endnote shares your references with collaborators through EndNote sync. EndNote also uses your references in word-processing documents to create formatted citations and bibliographies or independent reference lists.

Mendeley™ is a citation management software designed to help you save, organize and format bibliographic citations that you find in databases such as the ND Catalog, OneSearch, Google Scholar, Web of Science, and more. Mendeley is a desktop- and web application combining Mendeley Desktop, a PDF and reference management application (available for Windows, OS X and Linux) with Mendeley Web, an online social network for researchers.

The simplest way to get started is to Create a Mendeley account and open the web interface or download and install the desktop client for OS X or Windows.

Zotero™ is a citation management software designed to help you save, organize and format bibliographic citations that you find in databases such as the ND Catalog, OneSearch, Google Scholar, Web of Science, and more.

Zotero is a Firefox addon that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies. It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.