Background Information - AMST 30143 – Fashioning Identities in Colonial America - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

Overview

Welcome to the research guide for Fashioning Identities in Colonial America. Here you will find print and online resources that will help you in your research. It will also offer suggestions for how to search for print and electronic holdings at Hesburgh Libraries. Although not comprehensive, it serves as a place to begin your research.

Related libguides include: American Studies, Art, Art History, and Design, History, United States and Canada, among others.

Colonial America and the New Republic

The African American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience
The history of African Americans from pre-colonial times to the present.

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 This link opens in a new window
This work documents the full range of the African American experience during the period from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass.
Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window
Brings together a large range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.

The Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America
Call Number: 10th Floor Reading Room • E 188 .E63 1990
Spanning the entire colonial period, this reference work covers the ideas, events, people and developments which defined the birth of the United States.

Oxford bibliographies online This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on many subjects. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford handbooks online This link opens in a new window
Oxford handbooks cover many different subject areas, containing articles by scholars at the top of their field.

Women in Early America: Struggle, Survival, and Freedom in a New World
Call Number: General Collection • HQ 1416 .M395 2004
This encyclopedia covers women's lives, contributions, and struggles during the years of early America. It includes illustrations of the habits of dress, material goods, and buildings that reflect the culture of these women.

Clothing and Material Culture

The Dictionary of Fashion History
Call Number: General Collection • GT 507 .C79 2017
Ethnic Dress in the United States
Call Number: General Collection • GT 605 .E35 2015
This encyclopedia explores 150 different and distinct items of ethnic dress, their history, and their cultural significance within the United States.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Costume and Fashion
Call Number: ReferenceCollection [1st Floor] • GT 730 .C37 2006
Captions accompany every color plate, providing details on the garment, the wearer's rank, and the period.
Material Culture in America
Call Number: Lower Level - Ranges 1-38 • GN 560 .U6 M37 2008
Entries trace the history, production, consumption, and reception of various types of goods and explore the uses and meanings of artifacts within changing social, cultural, economic, and political contexts.
World of a Slave
Call Number: 10th Floor Reading Room • E 441 .W895 2011
This encyclopedia focuses on what enslaved people saw; touched; heard; ate, drank, and smoked; wore; worked with and in; used, cultivated, crafted, played, and played with; and slept on.