Scholarly Articles and Books - AMST 30143 – Fashioning Identities in Colonial America - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals.
America, history and life This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (see: ATLA religion database with ATLASerials PLUS) This link opens in a new window
In 2018 the content of Catholic Periodical Literature Index (CPLI) became part of ATLA religion database with ATLASerials PLUS.

Dress: The Journal of the Costume Society of America
This journal publishes research that examines the significance of dress in art, social history, anthropology, and material culture.

Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for more than 3,500 scholarly journals and general interest periodicals embracing all academic disciplines (citations only for The New York Times). Search can be limited to book reviews.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Books

These resources will help you find e-books and print books held by Notre Dame, other local libraries, or books held at other libraries worldwide.

Hesburgh Libraries Online Catalog (ND Catalog)
ND Catalog lets you search the holdings of the Hesburgh Libraries, Kresge Law, and Holy Cross libraries' catalogs separately or together. It includes content from the University Archives, the Center for Research Libraries, and working papers from the Institute for Latino Studies.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

E-Books

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of major scholarly works from all areas of the humanities, including online versions of printed works as well as original electronic publications. Formerly known as the History E-Book Project.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for thousands of recently published books from selected academic and commercial publishers, as well as older works in the public domain. Sometimes formerly called NetLibrary.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository of printed works from the nation's research libraries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Oxford scholarship online This link opens in a new window
An online library of thousands of academic works from the list of Oxford University Press. It covers subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
Project Muse : ebook collections This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of e-books.

Unpublished Research

ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, to almost all American dissertations since 1861.

Browsing for Books

Browse the Stacks

Hesburgh Library books are shelved using Library of Congress call numbers, an alpha-numeric system. Physically browsing the shelves can be a serendipitous way to discover new topics and ideas. These call number ranges are suggestive only.

Floor 10

E 151 - 909 United States history
F 1 - 975 United States local history

Floor 9

PS 1 - 3626 American literature

Lower Level

GT 500 - 2370 Costume history
TT 490 - 695 Clothing manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring
TT 697 - 927 Home arts. Homecrafts (includes sewing, embroidery)

Browse Virtually

The library purchases books in electronic format, which means that although the books appear in the online catalog, they are not physically shelved. Also, because of space limitations, some print books have been stored off-site at the Annex. To browse both e-books and Annex books: once you have found a relevant title, scroll to the bottom of the catalog record to reach the Virtual Shelf. It displays all materials in call number order surrounding the found item, regardless of a book's format or physical location.

Virtual Shelf is located at the very bottom of the catalog record.