Japanese Studies

Introduces research guides, prepared by Japanese Studies scholars and librarians across North America. Browseable by discipline (arts, literature, history, social sciences, religion & philosophy, government, business & economics, etc.), and format (bibliographies, biographical, maps, newspapers, academic Journals, statistics, visual resources, etc.).

Available for download in pdf at the Center for Japanese Studies Publications. Refer to call numbers below for printed books at the Hesburgh Libraries:
1. A guide to Japanese reference and research materials in the field of political science (Annex, Z 3308 .A5 W216)
2. A bibliography of Japanese dialects (PL 688 .B811)
3. Bibliographic materials in the Japanese language on Far Eastern archeology and ethnology
4. Japanese history: a guide to Japanese reference and research materials (Hesburgh Library 10F Reading Room, Z 3306 .H27 1973)
5. Japanese economics; a guide to Japanese reference and research materials
6. Japanese geography: a guide to Japanese reference and research materials
7. Japanese religion and philosophy : a guide to Japanese reference and research materials (Annex, Z 7757 .J3 H6 1975)
8. Japanese literature of the Shōwa period : a guide to Japanese reference and research materials
9. Japanese language studies in the Shōwa period: a guide to Japanese reference and research materials
10. Japanese sociology and social anthropology: a guide to Japanese reference and research materials

Annotated bibliography of books, journals, dictionaries, encyclopedia in English and Japan about literature, language, history, religion, philosophy, art history, theater, premodern and modern history, law, etc. The site also provides practical information for scholars and students in the field, such as how to keep up on current events and trends in Japanese Studies.

Citations of books, journal articles, book chapters, and theses about theatre, dance, puppetry, cinema, plays, masks, martial arts of India, China, Japan, Korea, Indonesia, South and Central Asia, West Asia, Oceania, and Southeast Asia.

This database, co-managed by the Japan Foundation and UNIJAPAN, provides film synopses, cast & staff, and production & distribution company information.

Organized by time period and subject.

Accompanied with two supplementary volumes:
- Doctoral dissertations on Japan and Korea, 1969-1974 : a classified bibliographical listing of international research (Hesburgh Library 10th Floor Reading Room, Z 3306 .S54 Suppl.)
- Doctoral dissertations on Japan and on Korea, 1969-1979 : an annotated bibliography of studies in western languages (Hesburgh Library 10th Floor Reading Room, Z 3306 .S54 Suppl. 2)

Annotated bibliography of modern and premodern literature, modern scholarship, literature and language dictionaries, tales, literary history, encyclopedia, etc.

This database, maintained by the Japan Foundation, covers Japanese literary works translated into other languages, mostly after World War II. Searches can be done either in Japanese characters or Roman letters.

Provides basic guidance to North American Japanese studies scholars who seek permissions for the use of Japanese images particularly in scholarly publications.

- dictionaries (Japanese, English-Japanese, Japanese-English and English-English)
- 日本大百科全書 Nihon daihyakka zensho = Nipponica (30-volume encyclopedia)
- イミダス Imidas and 現代用語の基礎知識 Gendai yōgo no kiso chishiki (dictionaries of current words)
- 科学技術略語辞典 Kagaku gijutsu ryakugo jiten (a dictionary of scientific terms)
- 日本人名大事典 Nihon jinmei daijiten (a biographical dictionary)
- The JK Who's Who
- The Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan (a news database (NNA) that covers Asia and the European Union)
- 週刋エコノミスト Shūkan ekonomisuto (a full-text journal)
- 江戶東京重ね地図 Edo-Tōkyō kasane chizu (map)
- The Tōyō bunko series
- chronologies (world history, Japan by period, Japan by prefecture, science, culture, society, daily life, social movements, economics and for individuals)
- a database of video (TV, news) recordings from 1908 to 2005
- database of dissertations from the humanities departments of six universities in Japan
- etc.