It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides selected text from newspaper collections: Pennsylvania gazette (1728-1800); The Civil War: a newspaper perspective (Nov. 1860-Apr. 1865); African American newspapers: the 19th century; The Liberator (1831-1865); The Virginia Gazette (1736-1780), and others. This is a growing collection.
"online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience... from more than 35 states ... created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States--those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress."--Publisher's overview.
A growing collection allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998 [and beyond], including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others.
Searchable database providing access to a "... compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries... features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project"..."--Product description.
Established in 1895, the Indianapolis Recorder Newspaper is now one of the top African-American publications in the nation. It focused on providing local news, although it also reported national events. Coverage runs from 1899 to 2014.
Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. Includes more than 1,200 titles.
Provides full-page and article images with searchable full text for The Irish times (Mar. 29, 1859-June 7, 1859), The Irish times and daily advertiser (1859-1874), Weekly Irish times (1876-1959), Times pictorial (1941-1955), Pictorial (1955-1957), Irish pictorial (1957-1958), The Irish times (1874- ). Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
"access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full colour and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations."
Searchable full text of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. Includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from established country or university towns.
Searchable database of full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-1985. Digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files. Includes advertisements, illustrations, and photos.
Provides full-page and article images with searchable full text for Bombay times and journal of commerce (1838-1859), Bombay times and standard (1860-1861), and Times of India (1861- ). Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
This is a full-text electronic resource of original print documents. The collection spans the nineteenth century through the dawn of the twentieth century, containing labor, trade, literary, scientific, and photographic periodicals, as well as other historically-significant titles.
British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century (the same periodicals as are covered in the UMI microfilm collection "Early British Periodicals"). It includes millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals from the latter half of the 20th century. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines.
Provides access to tables of contents for hundreds of journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America; Web database with search by journal and article and browse by country.
This resource contains nearly 600 titles from the nineteenth century, covering literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, and the professions.
Provides comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, 1890-1982, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ guide to periodical literature.
Television, Film, and Image Collections
For more resources on TV news, see the Film, Television, and Theater libguide's section on Television News.
Originally titled Colored People's Time when it first aired on Detroit Public Television in 1968, the program has continued to document current issues and American history from an African American perspective.
British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world and is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance. Spanning the years from 1896 to 1976, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture.
The Media History Digital Library is a non-profit initiative, led by David Pierce and Eric Hoyt, dedicated to digitizing historic books and magazines about film, broadcasting, and recorded sound for broad public access.
The Meet the Press collection makes over 1,500 hours of footage--the full surviving broadcast run from 1947 to present day--available online in one cross-searchable interface. Network television's longest running program--with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates--is available via streaming online video.
Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Selected online video content from CNN and NBC viewable with RealPlayer.
Provides access to documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Upon completion the collection will include more than 1750 documentaries covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania that offer a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall.