Library Guides: Media Entrepreneurship (Hedlin, Chris): Market Resources

Market Research Introduction

Market research focuses on topics such as customer profiles, customer preferences, and products. Generally, market research is more granular than industry, and it can often focus down to the individual level. Market research is often not an exact science. There is generally a lot of inference involved making using of research and data in the following areas:

Consumer preferences (survey data)
Demographics
Brand/Product performance
Geographic segmentation

Market Research Reports

Mintel Academic
Reports combine data and analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.
Technavio
Provides over 17,000 marketing research reports over 100 industry segments and over 800 niche and emerging technologies.
Frost & Sullivan Research Services
Provides access to reports and market trends encompassing various technology, energy, and manufacturing-related fields.
BCC Research
In-depth market research reports on trends, latest applications, and key players within markets such as advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies. For access to our subscription, sign in at the top right and select "IP Authenticate".

Consumer Preference Academic Research

PsycInfo
A leading database for the academic study of Psychology. Maintains a collection of literature analyzing the behavior of people in the context of products, marketing campaigns, and various design elements which could impact the creation of a product. (education, color, user design, demographic factors, etc.)
Web of Science
Provides access to scholarly research spanning various disciplines of science. Contains some articles relevant to business, marketing, psychology, and human behavior.
Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost)
Includes full text access to the Harvard Business Review.
Provides access to articles from academic journals, magazines, trade publications covering topics related to business, industry, marketing, and company research.

Market Data

Roper iPoll Data
Provides access to the most current year survey poll data behind the Pew Research Center.
American Time Use Survey
A government funded survey documenting how Americans spend their time. This is an excellent resource when often media related products are competing for the attention of their consumer base.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Expenditure Survey
Survey conducted by the US Census in collaboration with the BLS tracking consumer expenditure in the United States.
Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on a variety of topics.
SimplyAnalytics
Select "Sign in as a guest" if you do not want to create an account. Create an account if you wish to save your work. Licensed for 5 simultaneous users.
A mapping application for creating professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the U.S.
Sage Data (formerly Data Planet Statistical Datasets)
Provides access to statistical data on a wide range of topics produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
PitchBook
Access via the PitchBook icon when signed into okta.nd.edu. Library access to PitchBook is restricted to academic and professional development purposes only, and it is not meant to be used for commercial ventures or internships with companies that lack a commercial license to PitchBook.
Provides access to company profiles, private equity, and venture capital data. Also provides access to a research library of market reports covering market areas that are trending in the venture capital and private equity space. Includes access to Morningstar equity research reports.
Passport (Euromonitor International)
You must accept the Terms and Conditions to access the database.
Provides access to demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 200+ countries worldwide. Contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.
SBRNet (Sports Business Research Network featuring Sports Market Analytics)
Provides access to news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, broadcasting and marketing.
Bank of America Study of Philanthropy
Data centered survey on the criteria of key donors who make up non-profit contributions.

Media Entrepreneurship (Hedlin, Chris)

Need help? Ask a Business Librarian!

Librarians

Market Research Introduction

Market Research Reports

Consumer Preference Academic Research

Market Data