Skip to main content

Physics

Overview of Physics

Physics is a branch of physical science that involves the study of matter and its motion and behavior through space and time, along with related concepts such as energy and force; in other words, understanding how the universe behaves. Sub-disciplines include applied physics, astrophysics, biophysics, condensed matter physics, high-energy physics, nuclear physics, optics, and particle physics. Resources for physics are primarily available via the Web. Those resources that are print are primarily found in the Chemistry-Physics Library.​

Related subjects include: Astronomy.

News and Popular Press

Popular press resources such as newspapers and magazines are expert but non-scholarly sources that report basic facts and offer opinions. One benefit of these sources is that they are printed shortly after an event, but they do not reach the level of analysis necessary for scholarly work. 

Dictionaries

Dictionaries are most often collections of words in one or more specific languages, usually arranged in alphabetical order, providing information like word meanings, usage, etymology, and, when they contain more than one language, translations. Some dictionaries include information more commonly found in encyclopedias.  Encyclopedias are collections of information on terms, figures, eras, locations also arranged alphabetically, and, alongside definitions of terms, they also include more in-depth general information on a topic. Encyclopedias can be general or subject-specific.

Google Web Search

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are collections of information on terms, figures, eras, locations also arranged alphabetically, and, alongside definitions of terms, they also include more in-depth general information on a topic. Encyclopedias can be general or subject-specific.