Library Guides: Physics: Scholarly Articles and Books

Article Databases

Databases are multidisciplinary collections of scholarly resources. Most databases gather links to and citations for scholarly articles, although some contain additional information on books and other resources.

Inspec This link opens in a new window
Database providing bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing and information technology. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, patents and books published around the world.
Web of Science: Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
An e-print service which presents papers in physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. A fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers which functions as a means of communicating ongoing research information in these subject areas.

ADS
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 12.7 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints.
CERN
View Full RecordFree Resource
Monthly listings from 1994 onwards of preprints from CERN, preprints received and scanned at CERN, and some of Los Alamos eprint archives.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
HEP database make your own search. This link opens in a new window
Search high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses, comprehensively indexed by the SLAC and DESY libraries since 1974.

Journals at Notre Dame

Journals at Notre Dame
Find electronic versions of journals, magazines and newspapers available to the Notre Dame Community.

Books

These resources will help you find e-books and print held by Notre Dame, other local libraries, or books held at other libraries worldwide.

Amazon
Search for books, music, videos, and more--in a snap.

Google Books This link opens in a new window

Hesburgh Libraries Online Catalog (Aleph)
This is the Hesburgh Libraries online catalog, which also allows access to other MALC catalogs, and includes the full holdings of the Hesburgh Libraries of Notre Dame.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

Theses and Dissertations

These resources will help you find unpublished theses and dissertations, which present an author's research and findings as part of their degree candidacy or professional qualification.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.

CurateND
Collect your work in CurateND and share it with a worldwide audience.

Videos

Science videos
Videos about Astronomy, Physics, and Geology.