Library Guides: Psychology: Tests and Measures

Databases for locating tests and measures

The following is a list of databases that can be used to locate psychological tests and measures.

PsycTests This link opens in a new window
Included are descriptive summaries, full text, and relevant citations on the development and assessment of tests and measures that can be used in research and teaching in such fields of study as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Provides access to unpublished tests, tests developed by psychologists for which no source document has been located, and information about selected published tests available from commercial publishers. Coverage is 1910 to the present.
PsycInfo (CSA) This link opens in a new window
To find Tests & Measures in Psych info:
1. Click on the drop-down menu on the upper right side of the advanced search screen (it will say "Anywhere" by default).
2. Scroll down, and select "Test and Measures, TM=".
3. Type a search term in the search box, and PsycINFO will locate all articles that include tests that have your search term in the description of the test.
Mental measurement yearbook This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Vol. 9-
"Contains full-text information about and the reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas" --Database guide page.
Tests in print This link opens in a new window
"A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. [Information on] test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s) ... Also guides readers to critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental measurements yearbook (MMY) series"--Information page.
ETS Test Collection Database This link opens in a new window
The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers. With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest compilation of such materials in the world.
Psychiatry Online (DSM premium subscription) This link opens in a new window
Features DSM-5 and the American journal of psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Much more than individual titles, resource provides sophisticated searching and indexing tools that enable users to quickly target all the information needed.
Psychiatry Online (DSM Legacy Collection, Ed. 1-4) This link opens in a new window
Features DSM-5 and the American journal of psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Much more than individual titles, resource provides sophisticated searching and indexing tools that enable users to quickly target all the information needed.

APA Information about Psychology Tests
Providing guidance in using available resources to find psychological tests.

Books on Tests & Measures

A Compendium of Neuropsychological Tests by Esther Strauss; Elisabeth M. S. Sherman; Otfried Spreen
Call Number: RC 386.6 .N48 S67
ISBN: 9780195159578
Publication Date: 2006-04-06
The Compendium is serves as a guidebook providing a comprehensive overview of the essential aspects of neuropsychological assessment practice. It also represents a comprehensive sourcebook of critical reviews of major neuropsychological assessment tools for the use by practicing clinicians and researchers.
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology Vol. 1 by Kurt F. Geisinger; Bruce A. Bracken; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781433812279
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
The first section of the handbook covers psychometric aspects of testing.
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology Vol. 2 by Kurt F. Geisinger; Bruce A. Bracken; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781433812279
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
The first section of the handbook covers psychometric aspects of testing.
A Guide to Assessments That Work by John Hunsley; Eric J. Mash
Publication Date: 2008
The need for evidence-based practice in mental health services is becoming clearer by the day and, until recently, the trend of emphasizing services with supporting empirical evidence has been almost exclusively limited to a focus on treatment options. A Guide to Assessments That Work fills a void in the professional literature by addressing the critical role that assessment plays in providing evidence-based mental health services.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by Gary Groth-Marnat
Publication Date: 2003
This updated and revised classic covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Material is presented in a practical, skills-based manner and covers the most widely used assessment instruments, such as WAIS, WISC, Wechsler Memory, Rorschach, Projective instruments, Neuropsychological, Behavioral, CPI, MCMI, and MMPI.
The Handbook of Psychological Testing by Paul Kline
Publication Date: 2000
This text offers a comprehensive account of the whole of the field of psychometrics. It covers psychometric theory, the different kinds of psychological test, applied psychological testing, and the evaluation of the best published psychological tests. It provides a detailed coverage of the field and places an emphasis on the practical application of psychometric theory in psychology and education, as well as in vocational, occupational and clinical fields.
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment by Michel Hersen
ISBN: 047141610X
Publication Date: 2003-09-22
Four-volume work gathering leading researchers and clinicians in psychological assessment. Presents essential information on the four major classes of psychological assessment instruments, including intelligence/neuropsychological, personality (both objective and projective), behavioral, and industrial/organizational.

Major Tests

Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. The Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale (WAIS) is an IQ test designed to measure intelligence and cognitive ability in adults and older adolescents.
Wechsler Memory Scale
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. The Wechsler Memory Scale (WMS) is a neuropsychological test designed to measure different memory functions in a person.
Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. The Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (MMPI) is a standardized psychometric test of adult personality and psychopathology.
Rorschach Test
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. The Rorschach test is a psychological test in which subjects' perceptions of inkblots are recorded and then analyzed using psychological interpretation, complex algorithms, or both.
Thematic Apperception Test
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Thematic apperception test (TAT) is a projective psychological test. Proponents of the technique assert that subjects' responses, in the narratives they make up about ambiguous pictures of people, reveal their underlying motives, concerns, and the way they see the social world.
California Psychological Inventory
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. The California Psychological Inventory (CPI) is a self-report inventory created by Harrison G. Gough and currently published by Consulting Psychologists Press. The test was first published in 1956, and the most recent revision was published in 1987.
Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. The Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory - Fourth Edition (MCMI-IV) is the most recent edition of the Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory.