Library Guides: Researching Twentieth-Century Mexico: Libraries and Archives in the United States

Starting Points

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid covers over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
WorldCat
Contains catalog records of over 45,000 libraries worldwide. The records overlap with Archive Finder (NUCMC records) but also include independently contributed records not in NUCMC. Limit search to “Archival Materials” (this will yield mixed materials, including archival materials and manuscripts).
ArchiveFinder
Directory that describes more than 220,000 collections of primary-source materials located in repositories in the United States, the United Kingdom, and Ireland.
LANIC
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) provides editorially-reviewed directories that contain over 10,000 unique URLs for Latin American content on the Internet. The section on Libraries and Reference can be useful for research. Some links are no longer active, but can suggest research directions.

LLILAS/Benson Rare Books and Manuscripts Division
UT Austin's Benson Latin American collections are some of the strongest in the United States. This link provides descriptions of the collections and access to digitized content.
more...less...
Among the collections with contemporary content are: Agrasánchez Collection of Mexican Cinema, 1931-2001, Mexico-U.S. Business Committee Records, c.1960s-1990s; Dirección Federal de Seguridad (Mexico) Security Reports, 1970-1977; José Revueltas Papers, 1906-2010; and, Ejército Zapatista de Liberación Nacional Collection, 1996-2001
Princeton Latin American Studies Manuscript Collections
Latin American Studies manuscript collections held by Princeton University. Search or browse for Mexico.
Online Archive of California
Database of rare materials held in California archives, some digitized. Includes collections with Mexican content.
Hoover Institution, Stanford University
More than six thousand archival collections—in sixty-nine languages from more than one hundred fifty countries (including Mexico)—pertaining to war, revolution, and peace in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
University of Arizona Borderlands Collections
University of Arizona manuscript collections related to the U.S.-Mexican borderland.