Library Guides: History, United States and Canada: Scholarly Articles and Books

Article Databases

This is a selected list of general secondary source databases in American Studies. See Resources by Topic for specific databases on race and ethnicity, class, gender and sexuality, environmental history, and religion and irreligion.

America, history and life This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.

Érudit
Francophone and Canadian peer reviewed journals, e-books, theses and other scholarly materials in North America. Access to the last two years of publication of scholarly journals is restricted.

Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for 3,500+ scholarly journals and general interest periodicals embracing all academic disciplines (citations only for The New York Times). Search can be limited to book reviews.
Hispanic American periodicals index This link opens in a new window
Offers journal article citations about Hispanics/Latinos in the United States, and in Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, and Brazil. HAPI currently provides over 34,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
It provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays, and reviews in the humanities, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Military & government collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text for nearly 300 academic journals and periodicals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Periodicals archive online This link opens in a new window
Full text searchable journal collection of 350+ periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences (a subset of Periodicals index online). See Periodicals index online for more extensive indexing and links to selected full text articles.
Periodicals index online This link opens in a new window
Index to millions of articles in over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published beginning 1770 or subsequently; scope is worldwide, covering major Western languages. Complete PCI Index, including links to selected full text articles. Only the index is searchable.
Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
It provides full text access for sports & sports medicine journals, dating back to 1985, and indexing of sports publications back to the eighteenth century.

Books

These resources will help you find e-books and print held by Notre Dame, other local libraries, or books held at other libraries worldwide.

Hesburgh Libraries Online Catalog (ND Catalog)
ND Catalog lets you search the holdings of the Hesburgh Libraries, Kresge Law, and Holy Cross libraries' catalogs separately or together. It includes content from the University Archives, the Center for Research Libraries, and working papers from the Institute for Latino Studies.
AMICUS--Canada's national catalogue
AMICUS shows the published materials held at Library and Archives Canada (LAC) but also those located in over 700 libraries across Canada.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

E-Books

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of major scholarly works from all areas of the humanities, including online versions of printed works as well as original electronic publications. Formerly known as the History E-Book Project.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for thousands of recently published books from selected academic and commercial publishers, as well as older works in the public domain. Sometimes formerly called NetLibrary.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository of printed works from the nation's research libraries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Oxford scholarship online This link opens in a new window
An online library of thousands of academic works from the list of Oxford University Press. It covers subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
Project Muse : scholarly journals online This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.

Browsing for Books

Browse the Stacks

Hesburgh Library books are shelved using Library of Congress call numbers, an alpha-numeric system. Physically browsing the shelves can be a serendipitous way to discover new topics and ideas. North American history books are located on the 10th floor. Other related topics, like English literature, religion, gender studies, etc., are located on other floors. These call number ranges are suggestive only.

Floor 10	E 11 - 143 E 151 - 909 F 1 - 975 F 1001 - 1145.2 F 1170	History of America United States history United States local history History of British American (including Canada) History of Dutch America History of French America
Floor 9	PS 1 - 3626 PS 8001 - 8599	American literature Canadian literature
Floor 13	BM - BQ	Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, and other religions
Floor 12	BX 1 - 3999	Christian denominations
Floor 11	BX 4000 - 9999	Christian denominations (con't)
Lower Level	GE - GF HD HQ	Environmental history Labor history Gender and women's studies

Browse Virtually

Because of space limitations, some books have been stored off-site at the Annex. To include these materials in your browsing, use the ND Catalog's Virtual Shelf feature. It displays all materials in call number order, regardless of a book's physical location.

Click "Virtual Shelf" in a record to view the item's topical neighbors.

Theses and Dissertations

These resources will help you find unpublished theses and dissertations, which present an author's research and findings as part of their degree candidacy or professional qualification.

OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
This database indexes thousands of theses and dissertations accepted by American universities from 1902 to the present and provides links to full text, when available.

CurateND
Repository for scholarship created by the university and digital or digitized materials held by the university library. Content includes electronic theses and dissertations, research data, scholarly articles, preprints, presentations, reports, digitized books and manuscripts, oral histories, and more.
Dissertations at the Center for Research Libraries
An international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries to support original research by making available a wealth of rare and uncommon primary source materials from all world regions.
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations from the early twentieth century to the present.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997.