It spans continents and cultures to bring information to researchers across academic disciplines. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics in a single search.
A portal to electronic publications covering the cultural and natural history of the Canadian national park system, it is an independent effort to showcase the history of the Parks Canada Agency and the Canadian National Park and Historic Site System.
Some of the latest reports, plans and documents pertaining to the management of Parks Canada are available electronically. Information on specific national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas can be found by navigating the areas of the Web site pertaining to these programs. Parks Canada Library collections are held across the country, and can be searched via AMICUS, the Canadian national online public catalogue.
A dated multi-media website produced by the US Department of Agriculture and the National Institute of Food and Agriculture. Its narrative offers an institutional-based history of US agriculture that contrasts with environmental histories of American agriculture.
Provides consumer-oriented information on health topics from consumer health periodicals, reference works, and pamphlets. Covers medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health, and sports medicine.
A portal to thousands of electronic publications and videos, this site’s materials cover the history of the National Park Service and the cultural and natural history of the national parks, monuments, and historic sites of the U.S. National Park System. The site is independent of the National Park Service but relies on contributions of materials by NPS employees and supporters.
From the National Agricultural Library, the United States Department of Agriculture, historic documents published before 1942--before synthetic chemicals became widely used. Additional documents from this collection are available at the Internet Archive.
Contains manuscripts, maps, ephemera, and rare printed sources about the American West, including Canadian sources. It includes tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes, and outlaws, and the growth of urban centers and environmental impact of westward expansion and of life in the borderlands, from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century.
This database is comprised of selections from microfilm collections based on H. L. Wagner’s The Plains and the Rockies: A Bibliography of Original Narratives of Travel and Adventure, 1800-1865 and John M. Townley’s The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841-1869. Mostly about the American west, it includes the Canadian west as well.
A group of about 9000 photographs relating primarily to forestry, conservation, and the lumber industry in California and the United States. The photographs were taken from 1906 to 1984 by Emanuel Fritz, Woodbridge Metcalf, and others.
A collection of more than two million images, 1,975 of which are available online. They cover Park architecture, Civilian Conservation Corps, Native American heritage, NPS personnel, roads and transportation, scenic views, and more.
A quarterly audio podcast about the environmental history research community in Canada, it is hosted by Sean Kheraj, Associate Professor of History at York University, Toronto. The podcast examines the field of environmental history through interviews, round-table discussions, and lectures.
It offers access to resources about human participation in, and understandings of, the environment. It addresses the community of teachers and researchers in environment-related humanities, and the interested public. The portal is the digital publication platform and archive of the Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society, a nonprofit joint initiative of the University of Munich and the Deutsches Museum.
Part of H-NET, the Humanities & Social Sciences Online initiative, H-Environment is a platform for environmental historians to communicate about new work and resources, and promote discussion in the field.
A Canadian-based confederation of researchers and educators who work at the intersection of nature and history. They explore the historical context of environmental matters and communicate their findings to researchers, policymakers, and the public.
The Forest History Society offers this database, which contains descriptions of over 7,000 groups of environmental history records located in more than 450 repositories across North America and around the world.
The rare books, manuscripts, and special collections library of the Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington holds resources for the study of the American West with particular emphasis on overland narratives and diaries, on the Pacific Northwest, and on the California Gold Rush.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) holds records for the National Park Service (NPS), scattered around the country in regional NARA repositories. NARA provides a list of repositories that hold NPS records. Search the regional archives’ sites for details about NPS records held there.
The Forest History Society manages a collection of the US Forest Services' records, including a searchable database. This collection should be used in conjunction with the US Forest Service records held by the National Archives.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) holds records for the National Forest Service (NFS), scattered around the country in regional NARA repositories. NARA provides a list of repositories that hold NFS records. Search the regional archives’ sites for details about NFS records held there.