In nearly 700 entries, this set documents the full range of the African American experience during the period from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass, and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy , the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African-American culture on the American cultural landscape. --Publisher description.
Established in 1895, the Indianapolis Recorder Newspaper is now one of the top African-American publications in the nation. It focused on providing local news, although it also reported national events. Coverage runs from 1899 to 2014.
The collection brings together local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. in the 1920s. It also includes several anti-Klan newspapers.
This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
Contains primary documents focusing on African American culture, social conditions, and identity in Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina. Includes individual papers collections as well as the Chicago Urban League papers (c1916-1985). Also includes the civil rights magazine The Messenger for the years 1925-1928, and papers about housing projects.
Presents insights into interactions between American Indians and Europeans in North America from their earliest contact through late twentieth century. Includes treaties, speeches, diaries, historic maps and travel journals, among others.
These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of the American Indian Movement as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism from 1968, when the organization was established.
A digital archive of foreign reactions to and commentary on African American, Hispanic American, Asian American and Native American history and America's struggles with racial justice from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond. The news and analysis comes from reports gathered daily between the early 1940s and 1996 by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA.
Searchable database of digitized original source materials containing editorials, speeches, and news reports by and relating to African American abolitionists from 1830-1865. Indexes available for people, organizations, subjects, keywords, newspapers, and dates.
The resource consists of Civil Rights records from the Roosevelt through the George H. W. Bush presidencies; FBI files on Martin Luther King and on major civil rights demonstrations; records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), National Association of Colored Women's Clubs (NACWC), Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE).
Calisphere is a gateway to California’s digital collections--historically important photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. Find sources about the 1882 Chinese Exclusion Act, a themed collection on Asian Americans , and more.
This database includes approximately 3,400 names found in governmental records involving the servitude and emancipation of Africans and, occasionally, Indians in the French and English eras of colonial Illinois (1722–1790) and African-Americans in the American period of Illinois (1790–1863).
JARDA contains thousands of primary sources documenting Japanese American internment, including diaries, letters, photographs, and drawings, US War Relocation Authority materials; personal histories documenting the lives of the people who lived in the camps, as well as of the administrators who created and worked there.
The NAACP Papers charts the NAACP's work from 1909 to 1972. Notre Dame currently has access to: Module 2, NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files, and Module 6, NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces.
The archive's collection strengths include materials relating to the resettlement of Southeast Asian refugees and immigrants in the United States after 1975, including refugee camp and other experiences of the "boat people" and land refugees, and the development and progress of new ethnic communities.
In the early 1920s, a group of scholars set out to investigate economic, religious, educational, civic, biological, and social conditions among Chinese, Japanese, and other non-European residents of the Pacific coasts of the US and Canada. Completed life history questionnaires comprise the greatest bulk and are the "raw data" of the archive. The project's records have been digitized and are available online.
Composed of over 5,700 oral history interviews, the majority of which were conducted during the 1970s and 1980s, the collection documents the experiences of people who came to Canada from all over the world: Finland, Ukraine, Italy, Hungary, South Asia, (including Vietnam), and more.
Originally called Colored People's Time when it first aired on Detroit Public Television in 1968, the program has continued to document current issues and American history from an African American perspective.
Offers current and historical data on minority groups in the United States.
Archival Research and Collections
This is a very selected list and these archives are only suggestive. See the Archives and Archival Resources guide for information on how to search for archival collections and use them effectively (including things to consider before you go).
One of Canada's most important archives, it holds the Multicultural History Society of Ontario fonds, an enormous collection in which 55 ethnocultural communities are represented. The archives also holds significant related collections.
The Multicultural History Society of Ontario (MHSO) holds a large collection of oral testimonies (histories), photographs, and textual collections. Some have been deposited with the Archives of Ontario (see above), but the MHSO continues to collect.
The Julian Samora Library at the Institute for Latino Studies at Notre Dame collects, preserves, and provides access to rare books, manuscripts, personal papers, archives, and oral histories related to the Latino experience in the United States with a particular focus on the Midwest.
The largest African American history and literature collection in the Midwest, the Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and Literature documents the black experience with a strong focus on Chicago