Latin American Studies

Mostly print newspapers. Available through Interlibrary Loan. Some digitized.

The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

BDPI is a project of the Asociación de Bibliotecas Nacionales de Iberoamérica (ABINIA). Its objective is the creation of a portal which provides access, from a single search point, to the digital resources of all the participating libraries. Highlighted digital collections in geography and travel, periodicals, music, and tales and legends.

Executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available to the end of the first Republic in 1930. Provincial presidential reports, presidential messages, ministerial reports and Almanak Laemmert are included.

British Library program to preserve and digitize at risk archival collections throughout the world. The website provides links to full-text completed projects in Latin America. An excellent browsing place for exploring online full-text primary sources.

A digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries.

This database includes speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996. "Castro Speech" is a database containing the full-text translations of speeches, interviews, and press conferences by Fidel Castro, based upon the records of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a U.S. government agency responsible for monitoring broadcast and print media in countries throughout the world. These records are in the public domain. All texts are in English.

Many hundreds of protest murals were created in Chile during the dictatorship of Gen. Augusto Pinochet (1973-1990). The photographer Andrés Romero Spethman worked alongside muralist brigades representing political parties such as the Partido Socialista and the Izquierda Cristiana. Created in and around Santiago between 1983 and 1990, the murals document the spirit, force, and iconography of political protest during an important period of Chilean history.

Digital Library of the Caribbean View Full Record
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Scarce and unique pamphlets, primarily from Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico, published during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Portal to a number of ongoing collaborative digital projects between the University of Texas at Austin and Latin American partners, most with some content already available. These include: Archivo de Inforpress Centroamericana (geographic area: Guatemala), Colección Conflicto Armado del Museo de la Palabra y la Imagen (geographic area: El Salvador), Hemeroteca del Museo de la Palabra y la Imagen (geographic area: El Salvador), and La Información, a historical newspaper documenting the social, political, and economic life of Bluefields, Nicaragua.

The posters included in this collection were created by a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America, in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and services. Even though posters produced in Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, Mexico, and Venezuela are the most abundant among the more than two thousand currently available in the site, almost every country in the region is represented. In terms of topics, some of the best represented are human rights, elections, gender issues, indigenous issues, labor, ecology and environmental issues, development, public health, and education. The Latin American Posters Collection is a component of the larger collection of Latin American ephemera that Princeton University Library has developed since the 1970s.

The Slave Societies Digital Archive (formerly Ecclesiastical and Secular Sources for Slave Societies), directed by Jane Landers and hosted at Vanderbilt University, preserves endangered ecclesiastical and secular documents related to Africans and African-descended peoples in slave societies. SSDA holdings include close to 500,000 digital images. It emphasizes Brazil, Cuba, Colombia, and Spanish Florida.

ArchiveGrid covers over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.