Latin American Studies

Thorough, peer-reviewed, regularly updated articles on a variety of topics in Latin American history. Perhaps the best starting point for your research.

Oxford bibliographies offer peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies that are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable. Begin with the Latin American studies bibliography and explore links to others. These will point you towards the most important classic and recent books and articles for the topics covered.

Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. Begin here if you need a brief, reliable discussion of a topic.

Collection of important primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. The resource also includes academic journals, news-feeds covering the region, reference articles and commentary. maps and statistics, audio and video. Topics covered include politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. A good resource for brainstorming possible research paper topics. There are also some excellent primary source materials in this collection.

A good place to begin research. This database focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming. Ties together a variety of sources to present an analysis of issues. Portal pages organize and present full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals, encyclopedia entries, and primary resources such as podcasts and speeches, videos, maps, images, websites, and statistics.

More than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including: print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives. Includes many sources produced in Latin America.

Includes full text access to 1) Business Operations Report (Concise fortnightly business briefing), 2) Country Commerce (Guide to business environment, regulatory framework, trading risks, key economic indicators, including level of foreign direct investment), 3) Country Finance (In-depth analysis of national financial conditions and instruments, comprehensive guide on how to maximize return on overseas investments, case studies of foreign and domestic companies), 4) Country Monitor (Weekly briefings which highlight key developments from around the world affecting global business). Also: Business Africa, Business Asia, Business Eastern Europe, Business Europe, Business Latin America. Produced by sister unit of the Economist newspaper.

Contains searchable full text of international affairs working papers from university research institutes, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, foundation-funded research projects and links to international affairs centers, institutes, and further resources. Most or all content in English, produced outside of Latin America.

Successor to Dow Jones News Service, Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users. Most or all content produced outside of Latin America.

Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.

Latin American Newsletters (LatinNews) was founded in London in 1967 to provide expert political, economic, and security analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean. This database provides access to the full portfolio of Latin American Newsletter information resources along with a series of bespoke services including the Client Response Unit, Special Bulletins, Personal Briefings, and Five-Year Forecasts. Usage info: Licensed for 10 simultaneous users.

The Inter-American Dialogue engages our network of global leaders to foster democratic governance, prosperity, and social equity in Latin America and the Caribbean. Together, we work to shape policy debate, devise solutions, and enhance cooperation within the Western Hemisphere.The Inter-American Dialogue publishes the Latin America Advisor every business day and is aimed at a readership of corporate leaders and government officials with an interest in latin America's development and future. It features analysis on the top questions facing executives from across the region, as well as a snapshot of the day's most important news events.

Provides English translations of news sources prepared by the U.S. government from around the world. Successor to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS).

Created by the U.S. intelligence community for policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages, from Arabic to Swahili, these media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary. The materials in this resource cover roughly from the 1940s through the 1990s.

Provides access to archive of original, accurate and objective news articles providing digestible but detailed summaries of world events, drawn from a wide range of press and other sources in a variety of languages. Digitized version of Keesing's contemporary archives, 1931-1986, and Keesing's record of world events, 1987-

Declassified U.S. Government documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act by the National Security Archive, an independent non-governmental research institute and library at George Washington University. The Digital National Security Archive provides enhanced access to a selected portion of the NSA collection.

In its statistical work, the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) aims to promote the creation and use of internationally comparable, accurate and timely statistical information of relevance in the formulation, follow-up and evaluation of economic, social and environmental development policies in the region.