American Studies

This database brings together important collections of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera published in America from the seventeenth through early twentieth centuries.

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts.

Colonial America will make available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies. Two of the five modules have been released so far.

A database of some 37,000 titles, fully digitized from of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series I. Can also be searched in the database, "America's Historical Imprints."

This database provides full-text access to 36,000 American books, pamphlets, and broadsides. Can also be searched in the database, "America's Historical Imprints."

A searchable digital edition of the Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera.

Documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624.

From the American Antiquarian Society's collection, this database offers facsimile images of 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. Can also be searched in the database, "America's Historical Imprints."

Provides access to an extensive range of diaries, letters, and memoirs of persons involved in the American Civil War.

Offers the full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories by major and minor writers of the period.

A global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.

Full or excerpted primary sources representing seminal issues, themes, movements and events in American history.

This portal showcases a wealth of primary source material for the study of the Great War, complemented by a range of contextual secondary features.

A CIA program that monitored and translated open-source media.

The NAACP Papers charts the NAACP's work from 1909 to 1972. Notre Dame currently has access to: Module 2, NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files, and Module 6, NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces.

This database explores the dynamic post-war period of social, political, and cultural change.

Presents insights into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact through late twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

This online archive offers digitized collections from British archives, about it's American colonies and later, the United States. Various topics are included, from missionary reports to diplomatic relations, and from the colonial period into the twentieth century.

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of Empire. The materials span five centuries and are accompanied by secondary resources.

A new interpretation of African American history over the last 400 years which includes essays, books, articles, manuscripts, illustrations, lesson plans, maps and music.

Tracks the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth.

Documents and images of the transatlantic slave trade and the global movement to abolish slavery, from the sixteenth through the nineteenth centuries.

Explore domestic consumerism, commercial tastes, and life and leisure in America between 1850-1950.

This resource offers primary and secondary sources about the history of women and social movements in the United States and how they inform US history.

Explore the phenomenon of world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos.

Provides full-text information and perspectives from hundreds of U.S. and international news sources. Web-only content and images are available. Coverage varies with individual newspapers, but in general coverage is recent and / or current.

A growing collection allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998 [and beyond], including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others.

Includes periodicals produced in the United States and British Columbia, from 1828 to 2016.

Includes women's-only institutions. New content added regularly.

Historical newspapers covering religious news, and the role religion played in American life and society. Supports research of early American history, religious history, ethnic studies, abolitionism, Civil War, and gender studies. More than 320 rare newspapers from over 30 states published between 1799 and 1900.

The largest collection of 18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery and more a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society.

CRL holds more than 16,000 newspaper titles from countries in all world regions, and from every US state, including more than 1,800 U.S. ethnic titles and some of the earliest African American papers. CRL also subscribes to newspapers from 50 countries and to more than two dozen US general circulation titles and ethnic press papers.

Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more, with a United States focus. Includes news covered in print issues of: Editorial research reports (1924-1986), Congressional quarterly's editorial research reports (1987-1991) and CQ researcher (1991-).

A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals from the latter half of the 20th century. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines.

Nexis Uni offers print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives.

Contains English language newspapers primarily from the United States (including some American Jewish newspapers) but has some non-American English language newspapers, including The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003), and Irish Times (1859-2011).

Collection of commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Offers documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, the environment, and more.

Provides indexing to English language oral histories held in repositories and collections; includes interview-level records (some with full text; some with links to audio or video on external websites).

This database explores the dynamic post-war period of social, political, and cultural change.

Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Selected online video content from CNN and NBC viewable with RealPlayer.

Provides access to critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide, with content that spans from the beginning of human history to the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989.

CRL has collected more than a half million volumes of monographic and serial publications of US state government agencies and legislatures from the earliest period through 1950. Most of the collection is not cataloged; to identify resources, consult state publications checklists or contact CRL’s Access Services (e-mail asd@crl.edu).

Makes available compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of US Public Laws.

Provides access to historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws, information about members of Congress.

The complete Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress consists of approximately 20,000 documents. The collection is organized into three "General Correspondence" series which include incoming and outgoing correspondence and enclosures, drafts of speeches, and notes and printed material.

This digital Edition comprises John Adams’s complete diaries, selected legal papers, and the ongoing series of family correspondence and state papers.

Originally microfilmed as JFK and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963, this collection provides insights into President Kennedy’s views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises.

A landmark in historical scholarship, The Papers of George Washington Digital Edition encompasses five separate series and the complete diaries. This digital edition offers the full content of 66 letterpress volumes in a single online publication.

Rotunda’s digital edition brings together the content of Thomas Jefferson's published volumes into one searchable online resource. This XML-based edition includes all the illustrations and bibliographical content of the print edition, with the added convenience of linked cross-references and indexes.

Search or browse US congressional materials, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, and 2nd Session.

When completed in 2019, this database will include all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London, plus all extracted documents associated with them.

The State Department files are a definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments in Afghanistan in the latter half of the twentieth century.

A digital archive of foreign reactions to and commentary on African American, Hispanic American, Asian American and Native American history and America's struggles with racial justice from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond. The news and analysis comes from reports gathered daily between the early 1940s and 1996 by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA.

Offers access to a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. It brings together sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies.

From the nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource holds declassified government documents covering US policy toward critical world events from 1945 to the present.

Provides US government translations of radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, from 1941-1996.

This collection contains materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United States (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait on August 2, 1990.

This digital collection reviews U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyzes the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China’s human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990.

Nexis Uni offers extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.

It covers many aspects of Anglo-America law--analytical, theoretical, and practical literature. The materials include casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.

This resource holds early state and municipal codes, constitutional conventions, legal dictionaries, and published legislation and court proceedings of the American Colonies.

It holds trial transcripts for well-known as well as obscure British and American trials, but also related books and pamphlets and other publications.

Full-text searchable database containing more than a thousand scripts for feature films. Most never before published and otherwise unavailable online. Provides details on scenes, characters, and writers.

Black Short Fiction and Folklore: African, African-American, and Diaspora is a collection of short stories and folktales from Africa and the African Diaspora, including oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life.

A collection of the full texts of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories.

A virtual library containing more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 200+ full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users

Full text of plays by American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the 20th century, information about the plays and their production, and biographical data. The collection represents groups across the United States and Canada , including Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Hawaiian/Samoan, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock , and others. Also includes issues of the Native playwrights' newsletter.

When complete, this collection will include more than 1,500 plays written by women, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information spanning from the 18th century to the present.

Indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines from 1890-1982.

Contains more than 1,500 full-text plays by more than 200 playwrights. Includes selected playbills, production photographs, information on related productions, theaters, and production companies.

A full-text electronic resource of original print documents that spans the nineteenth century through the dawn of the twentieth century. It contains labor, trade, literary, scientific, and photographic periodicals, among others.

Consists of searchable, digitized page images from more than 1,500 American periodicals from the eighteenth through the twenty-first century.

HARP provides access to the weekly magazine’s illustrations, cartoons, news, literature, editorials, and advertisements.

A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals from the latter half of the 20th century. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines.

A searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years. It is in progress and is not yet complete.

Access to articles and images, 1936-2000.

Full text searchable journal collection of 350+ periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences (a subset of Periodicals index online). See Periodicals index online for more extensive indexing and links to selected full text articles.

Index to millions of articles in over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published beginning 1770. Its scope is worldwide, covering major Western languages.

Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines.

Access to the first issue (August 1954) through 2000.

Cover-to-cover content from the first issue through 2000.

A searchable archive of 12 popular women's interest magazines, dating from the late nineteenth century through 2005. Titles include Better Homes and Gardens, Essence, Good Housekeeping, and Redbook.

Includes more than 660,000 Sanborn maps charting the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Digital Sanborn Maps was created from ProQuest Information and Learning's microfilm collection of 660,000 Sanborn Maps, which were filmed from the Library of Congress' collection. The Library's Sanborn collection includes all maps submitted to the Library through copyright deposit and a set of maps transferred to the Library from the Bureau of the Census. Maps from the Bureau of the Census include corrections issued by the Sanborn Company that were pasted over the original map sheet. Maps acquired through copyright deposit remain in their original form. The coverages are listed, state by state, in Fire Insurance Maps in the Library of Congress. Washington, 1981. (Maps Z 6026 I7 U58 1981). Includes textual information on construction details (for example, steel beams or reinforced walls), building use (ranging from symbols for generic terms such as stable, garage, and warehouse to names of owners of factories and details on what was manufactured in them ; in the case of large factories or commercial buildings, even individual rooms and the uses to which they were put are recorded on the maps), and other building features (such as pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery).

A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.