This resource offers scholarly overviews on many areas of religion and irreligion in America, including American Islam, American Judaism, American Methodism, Malcolm X, to name a few, as well as on general topics including religious studies, atheism, and feminist theology, among others.
Cambridge Histories spans subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
A multidisciplinary approach that addresses all aspects of the dialogue between the sciences and the world's religions, reaching into the humanities as well as into the physical sciences and technology.
Brings together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in religion; it also contains specially-commissioned essays.
This is the online version of the updated English translation of the 4th edition of the encyclopedia of religion worldwide: the Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart.
Founded in 1934, it is an independent, nonprofit source of global news on religion, spirituality, culture and ethics, reported by a staff of professional journalists.
A non-profit service to provide the international academic and legal community (as well as various government agencies) with up to date religious news from around the world. WWRN was initiated with the goal of promoting religious freedom and tolerance.
Part of the Catholic Research Resource Alliance, this growing collection focuses on digitizing Catholic newspapers during the Vatican II years (1958-1970). The site offers thousands of newspaper pages, from different cities, over multiple years. Includes newspapers editorials, pictures, and advertisements.
Index to articles in over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published beginning 1770 or subsequently, to present times; scope is worldwide, covering major Western languages.
The Pluralism Project is a two decade-long research project that studies the new religious diversity in the United States. We explore particularly the communities and religious traditions of Asia and the Middle East that have become woven into the religious fabric of the United States in the past twenty-five years.
This online resource includes various collections of texts and images of Protestant Christian religious practice in America, from sermons to postcards.
This collection offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions. Series 1 consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions with the majority of titles from the 19th century; Series 2 consists of titles published from 1894 through 1922. This collection offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions.
This collection offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions. Series 1 consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions with the majority of titles from the 19th century; Series 2 consists of titles published from 1894 through 1922. This collection offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions.
Collection of almost 14,000 letters written by Presbyterian missionaries to the American Indians during the years from 1833 to 1893. Part of Archives Unbound.
DQC is a digital library containing full text and page images of over 500 individual Quaker works from the 17th and 18th centuries. The proprietary software developed for Earlham School of Religion provides multiple search functions and an interface for viewing pages.
The DAAR includes data from the US Census and the religion censuses from 1890 to 2010. There are some gaps in the data, based on changes in data collection over time and changes in denominations.
The Yearbook, which provides summary and statistical information for denominations in the US and Canada, has existed in print form since 1916. This online version holds information going back only to 2012. It is compiled by the Association of Statisticians of American Religious Bodies.
The American Religions Collection (ARC) contains more than 33,600 books, as well as over 4,987 serials and approximately 1,000 linear feet of manuscripts mainly relating to 20th century nontraditional religions and splinter groups of larger religious bodies in North America.
