84.51 (Spring 2025) - MGTO 30300 — Business Problem Solving (Harms/Balko) - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

84.51

Resources on this page will provide insights from potential data oriented projects centering around customer data. As this case makes use of Python/R programming skills, be sure to rely primarily on the data and sample resources provided by the case. Materials found here may help to inform recommendations based on your analysis.

Recommended Resources

Udemy Business
Signing into Okta, Udemy Business will be available as a clickable icon on the main page. Udemy Business is an online course system focusing on technical skills which has many lessons on Python and R programming if you need to brush up on some coding skills!
Stack Overflow
Free to use Q and A platform with a fully searchable interface for specific computer programming questions. A very useful tool for clarifying and troubleshooting potential coding issues.
Google Scholar
Searches in Google Scholar such as the following: "customer data" AND (python OR R) AND analysis may provide articles documenting data analysis endeavors similar to this case across a variety of industries. Add AND grocer* to the search string to refine down to the specificity of grocery store environments.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Apply the same or similar search strategy as in Google Scholar to see relevant articles from a slightly different pool of potential results.
Mintel Academic
Read and acknowledge the Permissions and Prohibitions to access the database.
Provides access to research reports on consumer trends. This includes category reports involving consumers more general shopping habits which may align with the sample data set provided in the 84.51 case.
SimplyAnalytics
Select "Sign in as a guest" if you do not want to create an account. Create an account if you wish to save your work. Licensed for 5 simultaneous users.
A mapping application for creating professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the U.S. Provides access to consumer expenditure data across broad categories of products. May give insight into pricing strategies or consumer spending habits on the whole.

Resources on this page will offer insight into the topic of data storytelling. There are numerous potential applications of data storytelling across academic disciplines. As such, it is beneficial to keep an open mind toward more general topics in data storytelling as a whole. Books are an excellent resource for this sort of purpose as they tend to provide general overviews of concepts that can be applied across multiple contexts. Databases also serve to provide shorter articles on more specific topics in data storytelling in the event you wish to investigate even further.

Recommended Books

The Power of Data Storytelling
An ebook providing a general survey of topics in data storytelling. Covers data storytelling as a concept, some data storytelling techniques, and data visualization.
Effective Data Storytelling: How to Drive Change with Data, Narrative, and Visuals
To access, select the Knovel link located in the online access section of the book's record page. This ebook covers many fundamental concepts and applications of data storytelling.
Storytelling with data : a data visualization guide for business professionals
To access select Notre Dame Online Access link in the Online Access section of the book record page. This ebook provides a general data storytelling overview in the context of business professionals.
Persuading with Data
White paper made available by SAS from the HBR Insight Center focusing on what makes a good data visualization for the purpose of persuasion.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete
Provides access to articles on topics that cross multiple fields of studies. An excellent resource for data storytelling as it is a concept which impacts various fields of study. Search the phrase "data storytelling" and you'll see a few good results which may help inform your case.
ABI/INFORM Global
Provides access to a number of magazines, journals, and trade publications investigating topics in data storytelling. Search the phrase "data storytelling" and pay particularly close attention to results from publications pertaining to marketing topics (such as Market Week) and results from the journal's relating to information and society, marketing, and management. Narrow results by subject on the left hand side to categories relating to those topics may help to narrow results even further.
Business Source Complete
Has a lot of overlap with results as they appear in ABI/INFORM Global and Academic Search Complete, but there may be some scattered differences that can help to fill out a picture on the data storytelling topic.

There are a number of different strategies companies may take when it comes to marketing their products or conducting promotion campaigns in order to increase revenue. Research in this area often clusters around specific promotion campaigns which are analyzed for their effectiveness. There are a few places where you can more generally find this type of research.

Recommended Resources

Google Scholar
Simple searches such as retail AND "promotion strategy" can yield some potential results for this case. It may be beneficial to more specifically structure a search surrounding the product category within the data provided by 84.51. Interchanging a product category as a keyword in conjunction to terminology relating to promotion campaigns, advertising campaigns, coupon strategy, etc. will yield varying results.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (ProQuest)
Includes Fitch Solutions Risk Reports and Country Industry Reports.
Provides access to articles, business periodicals, newsletters, and trade publications focused on industry and trade topics. The trade publication category of information in here may provide very succinct summaries from industry experts on product promotion.

MGTO 30300 — Business Problem Solving (Harms/Balko)

Need help? Ask a Business Librarian!

Librarians

84.51

Recommended Resources

Recommended Books

Recommended Databases

Recommended Resources