Deloitte (Spring 2024) - MGTO 30300 — Business Problem Solving (Harms/Balko) - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

Deloitte Spring (2024)

Getting started

The purpose of this page is to highlight resources that will be helpful in researching aspects of the hotels and hospitality industry in relation to the Deloitte Business Problem Solving Case. For this case, you are being provided sample data from Deloitte which should serve as the primary driver of your groups decision making. On this case page, you will find more contextual supplementary information to potentially make your recommendations and research stand out.

Outside of researching the general industry, consider looking into competing companies in the industry to gain insight into how current market conditions are impacting their brands. Also consider some of the unique aspects of this case when beginning your research.

Working within the context of a merger and brand expansion.
Current trends in the hotels industry.
The legal environment of a change in legislation impacting the hotel industry.
- Consider searching Google for records of laws passed pertaining to vacation rental properties at the state level (e.g. Florida)

Beyond the contents of this guide, be sure to also look into the web sites of both successful and unsuccessful companies in the hotel industry to take away key lessons of their successes, failures, and generate ideas for focusing your specific recommendations. Even just taking a look at Deloitte's website may help you get some context into your role in this case!

Suggested Key Terms

Hotels
Hospitality
Motels
Inns
Resorts
Merger
Acquisition
"consumer behavior" OR "consumer preferences"

Industry Searching

Industry research can provide a macro-level view of a variety of issues facing a particular service field. The databases recommended on this page provide expert analysis reports on the hotel and hospitality industry as well as several related industries. Utilize multiple resources from multiple databases to construct the most comprehensive understanding of the industry environment.

Recommended Databases

IBISWorld
Industry reports in five categories: market research, risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data. Begin searching hotels in the main search bar and select an autocomplete option that appears. Industry report will provide especially helpful insight into the competitive landscape, market share, and risk associated with the industry.
Mergent Online
Our subscription includes access to Investext, which provides company and industry analyst reports from investment banks, consulting firms, and brokerage houses. Click the "Investext" tab to search analyst reports on industries.
ABI/Inform Trade and Industry
Provides access to domestic and international First Research industry reports in addition to articles from trade journals.

Click on Browse, choose First Research for a list of industries to browse, or select Advanced Search, type an industry keyword in the search box, and look for Document type in the box down below. Find Industry Report and check the box. Click Search. Relevant reports:
- "Hospitality Industry"
- "Hotels & Motels"
- "Hotels, Motels & Resorts"
Forrester
Account registration required. Provides access to expert reports and analysis on technological trends and advances across industries. May be a good choice for finding informing on technology used in hotels. Try searching: "travel and hospitality".
Business Insights: Essentials
Provides access to various types of company, industry, and market information. Start with a broad search by selecting "keyword" from the dropdown on the main search bar and typing hotels. Use the filters on the left hand side to quickly scan the results. This is an especially helpful as Business Insight's can show you related professional associations where more information may be found.
Mergent Intellect
Company profile database that can provide some insight into market saturation in particular geographic region. Capable of constructing data sets of all companies classified under a specific industry in a region. For the Deloitte case, you could create a set of all hotels within a target region for expansion.

Market and Consumer Searching

The resources on this page specifically focus on the topics of market research and consumer behavior. These resources may be useful in identifying target consumers for a hotel brand. You may also be able to identify the level of market saturation for competing hotels in regions.

Recommended Resources

Mintel Academic
Perfect for reports about popular consumer trends, with daily updates on the latest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy. Market data includes size, segmentation and forecasts. Includes both analytic data, and reports category tag to quickly find information on the impact of the pandemic on consumer trends. Relevant category search path: Travel, Leisure & Entertainment -> Travel -> Accommodation.
Statista
Provides access to data sets across disciplines. Search hotels for multiple current data sets pertaining to hotels and accommodations. Dossiers in Statista provide an especially comprehensive overview of data surrounding its topic. When you find a useful dataset, be sure to check the source section of the item as it may lead to more data outside of Statista on the topic.
Technavio
Provides over 17,000 marketing research reports over 100 industry segments and over 800 niche and emerging technologies.
SimplyAnalytics
Select "Sign in as a guest" if you do not want to create an account. Create an account if you wish to save your work. Licensed for 5 simultaneous users.
A mapping application for creating professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the U.S.

Searching News and Media

The databases recommended on this page provide access to popular and business newspapers and publications. These databases support keyword searching, and you can generally construct narrow search strings to retrieve very specific sets of results. News sources can often be a good place to get a general pulse on an industry if you structure a targeted search well.

hotels AND trends AND industry
(hotels OR hospitality OR motels) AND regulation

Recommended Databases

Factiva
Provides access to many leading newspapers and business centric journals. Search builder allows you to create a search tied to specific industries, companies, regions, or subjects. Try making a search and specifying under the industry field of the search builder Travel/Arts/Hospitality -> Lodgings/Restuarants/Bars. You could add additional filters related to topics such as branding/marketing.
Nexis Uni
Newspaper database focusing on popular and legal news. May help to supplement resources found in Factiva, and may be useful if specifically interested in specific legal or liability issues facing the hotel and hospitality industry. Functions best with simple searches with fewer keywords. May provide some information on the impact of recently passed legislation regarding rental property in the case.

MGTO 30300 — Business Problem Solving (Harms/Balko)

Need help? Ask a Business Librarian!

Librarians