Library Guides: History, Ireland: Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland Conflict and Peace Process

Where to begin? CAIN (Conflict Archive on the INternet) along with books from the history shelves are good places to begin.

CAIN: Conflict Archive on the Internet
Website containing information and source materials on the 'Troubles' and politics in Ireland from 1968 to the present.

The Hesburgh Library holds a substantial collection of books on Northern Ireland. Use the catalog to find books on any subject, e.g. search for 'Hume Peace Ireland' will find a list of books relating to John Hume and Peace.

Additionally, the Library holds primary sources, microform collections, subscribed online sources, and films on Northern Ireland. Below is a guide to those resources.

Northern Ireland Political Literature. Phase I: Periodicals, 1966-1989. by Linen Hall Library
Call Number: Microfiche G3

Divided Society: Northern Ireland, 1990-1998 This link opens in a new window
Database of materials on Northern Ireland during the Conflict and Peace Process, covering 1990-1998, from the Linen Hall Library, Belfast.

** Users must create an account using their Notre Dame ID/password, and agree to terms and conditions.
Northern Ireland: a divided community 1921-1972 cabinet papers of the Stormont administration This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable collection of the complete Cabinet Conclusion files from the Stormont Administration in Belfast, from its start following the Government of Ireland Act of 1920 to the reintroduction of direct rule from Westminster by British Prime Minister Edward Heath in 1972. The Cabinet Conclusion files document every debate and transaction for the entire period and have been described as the best continuous record of government activity and decision-making in the world. Separate files exist for each Cabinet Meeting and include minutes and memoranda.

Northern Ireland: Special Collections

The following are some of the materials in the Rare Books and Special Collections of Hesburgh Libraries:

The Ronald Wells Collection on Peace and Reconciliation in Northern Ireland
Reports, publications and correspondence of organizations, mostly religious, relating to peace and reconciliation in Northern Ireland. The materials were gathered in the course of research by Dr. Ronald Wells.

Thomas Bartlett Northern Ireland Collection.

A large collection of books, pamphlets and some other materials, including a rubber bullet, from the early 1970s in Northern Ireland, were given to the Library by Thomas Bartlett, Most of the books and pamphlets may be identified by searching the catalog for 'Thomas Bartlett Northern Ireland Collection', and the rubber bullet and ephemeral items are in collection MSE/IR 1108.