eBook reference guide as to how the Bible has been interpreted and applied to legal and political issues in the United States over time.

A general work of reference for art, biography, education, history, law, literature, philosophy, the sciences, religion, and the Church from a Catholic perspective. Reproduced digitally by HeinOnline.

Broken down by continent, and then country, the encyclopedia covers the relation between law and religion in its various aspects, including those related to the role of religion in society, the relations between religion and state institutions, freedom of religion, legal aspects of religious traditions, the interaction between law and religion, and other issues at the junction of law, religion, and state.

Includes a chronology, introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on important events, doctrines, and the church founders, leaders, and other prominent figures who have made notable contributions to Baptist theology.

Charts Buddhism's history and adoption by adherents in Western nations. The dictionary section has more than 900 cross-referenced entries on personalities, theological concepts, significant practices, and basic writings and texts.

Covers the whole history of Catholicism, including the periods of Christian history prior to the present divisions into Catholic, Orthodox, and Protestant, but within the earlier periods it focuses on the story line that leads to Catholicism in the Roman Rite, and particularly to Roman Catholicism in the United States.

Explores Hindu history, society, philosophy, theology, and culture as well as its interactions with Jainism, Buddhism, Sikhism, Christianity, Islam, and Zoroastrianism. The dictionary section has cross-referenced entries on deities, historical figures, festivals, philosophical terms, ritual implements, etc.

Citations and abstracts of articles, books, government publications, research reports and conference papers on issues of social and public policies. Good source for locating international policy research.

Books, periodicals, and bibliographies about the development, history, organization, and fundamental principles of various world religions. Includes Christian Legal Society publications, an assortment of Canon Law, and rare historical bibles. Also included are more than 40 periodicals, as well as hearings, scholarly articles, bibliographies, and other related books.

Features more than 250 authors from Africa, Europe, Latin America, and North America. Includes the complete 17-volume German edition of Dietrich Bonhoeffer Werke (DBW) and English edition of the Dietrich Bonhoeffer Works Series (DBWE); an international selection of English-language editions of key authors such as Pope Benedict XVI, Hans Urs von Baltasar, Leonardo Boff, Sergius Bulgakov, Rudolf Bultmann, Helder Camara, James Cone, Mary Daly, Ivone Gebara, Gustavo Gutiérrez, Adolf von Harnack, Bernard Lonergan, Henri de Lubac, Mercy Amba Oduyoye, Wolfhart Pannenberg, Rosemary Radford Ruether, Jon Sobrino, Dorothee Sölle, Ernst Troeltsch, and John Howard Yoder; and a selection of the papers of Reinhold Niebuhr.

Focuses on modern Islamic theology and tradition and details Islam’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents by Muslim writers, both non-Western and Western voices. Includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Sadiq Jalal Al-Azm, Khaled Abou el Fadl, Fethullah Gülen, Sayyid Ahmad Khan, Said Nursî, Abdolkarim Soroush, Muhammad Tahir-ul-Qadri, and Amina Wadud; writings in Arabic by Muhammad Abduh and in French by Abdou Filali- Ansary, and a selection of more contextual monographs.

Focuses on modern Jewish theology and philosophy and details Judaism’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents. Includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Eugene Borowitz, Elliott Dorff, Emil L. Fackenheim, Blu Greenberg, David Hartman, Mordecai Kaplan, Adolf Neubauer, and Joseph B. Soloveitchik; writings in German and Hebrew from the Markus Brann collection, and a selection of contextual monographs and reference works.

Focuses on the various facets of Eastern Religion spanning over two-hundred years. It includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Alan Watts, Sister Nivedita, K. N. Jayatilleke, and Prayadh Payutto, among others.