Architecture Library
150 Walsh Family Hall of Architecture
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN 46556
(574) 631-6172
mlee32@nd.edu
The level of access listed below each collection shows to what degree materials can be physically accessed and used by researchers.
Basic Access.
Richard Galehouse received a Bachelor of Architecture from Notre Dame and a Masters in City and Regional Planning from Harvard University [1]. Galehouse joined the planning firm Sasaki in 1961 where he served as principal and senior planner [2]. Galehouses’ work is wide-ranging and he has contributed to projects focused on University planning, environmental sustainability, and urban regeneration [3].
Galehouse was instrumental in the development of the University of South Carolina masterplan [4] and played a significant role in the development of the Presidio Trust Management plan in San Francisco [5]. He was a key figure in the planning for the 1980 winter games in Lake Placid, NY, the 1984 summer games in Los Angeles, and the 1996 Atlanta Olympics [6].
Galehouse became involved with the Urban Land Institute in 1979 and is the author of the recent book The Power of the Plan, Building a University in Historic Columbia, South Carolina [7].
[1] “Richard Galehouse,” Urban Land Institute–Knowledge Finder, accessed July 11, 2023, https://knowledge.uli.org/en/People/G/R/Richard%20Galehouse%206b9b#sort=%40cz95xdate%20descending.
[2] “Dick Galehouse: AICP, AIA, Principal Emeritus,” Sasaki, accessed July 11, 2023, https://www.sasaki.com/people/dick-galehouse/.
[3] Ibid.
[4] “Book by Richard Galehouse MCP ’61 Explores Relationship Between the City of Columbia and the University of South Carolina,” Harvard University–Alumni and Friends, April 12, 2019, https://alumni.gsd.harvard.edu/alumni_updates/book-by-richard-galehouse-mcp-61-explores-relationship-between-the-city-of-columbia-and-the-university-of-south-carolina/.
[5] “Richard Galehouse,” Urban Land Institute–Knowledge Finder, accessed July 11, 2023, https://knowledge.uli.org/en/People/G/R/Richard%20Galehouse%206b9b#sort=%40cz95xdate%20descending.
[6] Ibid.
[7] “Dick Galehouse: AICP, AIA, Principal Emeritus,” Sasaki, accessed July 11, 2023, https://www.sasaki.com/people/dick-galehouse/.
No Access.
Allan Greenberg was born in Johannesburg, South Africa in 1938 [1] and received [2] his education from the University of Witwatersrand. In 1964, Greenberg immigrated to the United States where he went on to receive a Masters of Architecture from Yale University [3].
Following his time at Yale, Greenberg worked in the Connecticut court system as an architectural consultant from 1967-1979 [4]. During this time, Greenberg’s interest in classical architecture deepened and he drew critical praise for his work on a private home modeled after Mount Vernon [5]. More recently, Greenberg has explored the connection between classical forms and the history of democracy in the United States as expressed in his work on the State Department’s Treaty Room [6].
In 2006, Greenberg was the first American to receive a Driehaus prize [7].He is also a prominent scholar and teacher and has held appointments at Yale University, the University of Pennsylvania, Columbia University, and the University of Notre Dame [8]
[1] “Architects of the Rooms: Allan Greenberg,” The Diplomatic Rooms–US Department of State, accessed June 28, 2023, https://www.diplomaticrooms.state.gov/about-us/our-history/the-architects/allan-greenberg/.
[2] “About Allan,” Allan Greenberg Architect, accessed June 28, 2023, https://allangreenberg.com/about-allan/.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Philip Langdon, "Modem Classics: Allan Greenberg's Houses Reflect a Revival of the Classical Tradition," The Atlantic, January 1990, https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/1990/01/modem-classics-allan-greenbergs-houses-reflect-a-revival-of-the-classical-tradition/668985/.
[6] Bri Brophy, “Making Our Mark: Establishing a New Logo for the Diplomatic Reception Rooms,” The Diplomatic Rooms–US Department of State, November 5, 2021, https://www.diplomaticrooms.state.gov/making-our-mark-establishing-a-new-logo-for-the-diplomatic-reception-rooms/.
[7] “Breakfast and Books with Allan Greenberg,” ICAA, accessed June 28, 2023, https://www.classicist.org/calendar/events/breakfast-books-with-allan-greenberg/#:~:text=In%202006%2C%20Greenberg%20was%20the,American%20architectural%20and%20cultural%20landscape.
[8] “About Allan,” Allan Greenberg Architect, accessed June 28, 2023, https://allangreenberg.com/about-allan/.
Basic Access.
Robert Adam was born in 1948 and received his education in architecture from the University of Westminster [1]. Upon graduation, he secured a prestigious Rome fellowship that allowed him to study at the British School in Rome from 1973-1974 [2].
In 1977, Adam became a partner in a firm in Winchester before forming his own firm in 1986, Winchester Design, which was renamed ADAM Architecture in 2010 [3]. He helped to lead the firm until 2020, when he was asked to step down from his position as firm director [4].
Adam was involved in the New Urban development of Poundbury, a project spearheaded by Léon Krier [5]. He also names other important projects as the Sheridan House in Winchester from 1984, Ashley Park, a 2004 country house, and the Millenium Pavilion for Lord Sainsbury [6]. Adam was awarded the Richard H. Driehaus prize in 2017 [7].
[1] Geoffrey Baer “A Place at the Table–Architect Robert Adam: Biography Robert Adam,” WTTW, last accessed July 10, 2023. https://interactive.wttw.com/adam.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Richard John, New Classicists: Robert Adams; The Search for a Modern Classicism (Australia: The Image Publishing Group, 2010), 9.
[4] Robert Adam, “Hindsight: Robert Adam - 'The minute we got into competitions, we’d know we had no chance',” interview by Pamela Buxton, The RIBA Journal, November 16, 2022. https://www.ribaj.com/culture/hindsight-robert-adam-traditional-classical-buildings
[5] Rowan Moore “The shape of Britain to come … as designed by Prince Charles,” The Guardian, June 24, 2011. https://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2011/jun/24/prince-charles-influence-architecture-poundbury.
[6] Robert Adam, “Hindsight: Robert Adam - 'The minute we got into competitions, we’d know we had no chance',” interview by Pamela Buxton, The RIBA Journal, November 16, 2022. https://www.ribaj.com/culture/hindsight-robert-adam-traditional-classical-buildings.
[7] “Robert Adam: 2017 Laureate,” The Richard. H. Driehaus Prize at the University of Notre Dame, accessed July 10, 2023, https://driehausprize.nd.edu/laureates/robert-adam/.
Basic Access.
The Léon Krier Library and Archive is a permanent collection of his work and materials housed in the Architecture Library at the University of Notre Dame. The collection is currently being processed and will be made available to researchers and the public once completed.
No Access.
Basic Access.
The Seaside Research Portal is an online archive of the community of Seaside, Florida. The Architecture Library houses the archives of the Seaside Community Development Corporation along with physical and digital materials donated by the architects who have worked in Seaside.
Basic Access.
The Student Work Archive houses historical student work, contemporary award winning student projects, and selected student projects for NAAB review.
Types of materials collected: