Architecture Archive

If you will be visiting the Archives, the University's website provides a campus map and additional information.

Scanning

The Architecture Archive provides duplication services for researchers at their request.  All researchers requesting duplications of archival material will be required to sign forms stating their agreement with Archives’ policies and procedures prior to receiving copies.  The Archives reserves the right to refuse to duplicate any material found in its collections if, in its judgment, duplication could result in damage to the material.  Major portions of a collection will not be duplicated for any researcher.

Duplication of material found in the Architecture Archives of the University of Notre Dame is a service designed to facilitate research.  Reproductions of archival records will be made solely for the personal use of the individual researcher requesting them, and are not to be sold, given away or duplicated in any manner without the prior written permission of the copyright holder.  Duplication of material by the Archives does not constitute permission to publish. Please fill out the permission form to request duplication for publication purposes.

Due to limited resources, we are unable to provide scanning services for remote study. 

Photography

Researchers are welcome to photograph collection items during research visits for study and research purposes. No flash or tripods are permitted.

Copyright

It is the responsibility of the user to secure permission from the appropriate copyright holder.

In most cases, the Architecture Archive owns only the physical object and does not assume responsibility for intellectual property, copyright, or other legal issues involved in the publication and reproduction of items from its collections.

Citations

The Architecture Archives expects researchers to be responsible when citing materials found in the collections.  All citations must be specific enough to lead subsequent researchers directly to the items cited.  The Archives will make a suggestion for specific items as provided but a general example follows.

General citation

[Description of item], [Box and Folder], [Collection name], Architecture Archives, Hesburgh Libraries, University of Notre Dame.

Hours are 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Monday - Friday during normal semester business hours. 

Access is by appointment only.

Hands must be washed and free of lotions, hand sanitizer, etc.

No backpacks, purses, bags, or jackets are allowed in the research room. Lockers are available at no charge.

No food or beverages are allowed in the research room.

The only materials you may bring into the research room are pencil, paper, laptop, and a phone.

No more than 2 folders of material will be given at once to a patron. This will help minimize chances of disorder.

The Access/Use Request Form must be filled out prior to consulting materials.