Catalog Classic is the catalog interface that comes with the software the libraries use to manage our collection (our Integrated Library System, or ILS). The ND Catalog/OneSearch interface is separate software into which we load all of the records from Catalog Classic, and add in additional records that we cannot put in our ILS, like article records, archival records from Rare Books & Special Collections and University Archives, and very large record sets like the HathiTrust corpus. There are many similar features, but each interface offers some features the other does not; Catalog Classic supports better advanced searching against specific fields in the cataloged records, while the ND Catalog and OneSearch provide better ranking, filtering and sorting.
The ND Catalog has all of our local records, including our print, digital media, and online collections. OneSearch includes all of our local records, plus the article records from collections we have activated, including indexes like Web of Science and Scopus, databases like JSTOR, and many individual publisher collections.
Approximate collection size
|OneSearch||ND Catalog||Catalog Classic|
4.5 million records
|Rare Books and Special Collections and Archives archival records
|Kresge Law Library
|Holy Cross College
3 million records
Billions of records from 200+ collections
|NetID + Irish1Card||NetID Only||Card Only||Neither|
|Use online resources||Yes||Yes||No*||No*|
|Search the Catalog / OneSearch||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|Log in to the Catalog / OneSearch||Yes||No**||Yes||No|
|Check out books||Yes||No||Yes||No|
|Request scanned articles or book chapters||Yes||Yes||No||No|
* Guests can access select resources on-site at the Hesburgh Libraries. See Visitor Information for more details.
** Affiliates with a NetID can access full OneSearch results using this proxied OneSearch link.