LLEA 13186 — Literature University Seminar (Wang): Modern China Through the Lens of Gender: Literature, Film and Popular Culture

Based on the originally a thousand-page reference work on China with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century.

A digital library of more than 4,000 Chinese picture books (连环画), accompanied with approximately 700 audio files in Mandarin Chinese (approximately 500 books), Uyghur (100 books), and Kazakh (50 books). Browseable by categories: Classic Novels; Mythology; Idiom Stories; Red Classics; Juvenile Literature; Martial Arts Novels; Contemporary Chinese Literature; Foreign Literature, etc. Included in the collection is the picture book series (连环画报), published, since 1951, by the People's Fine Arts Publishing House. Also included is a reference source, Lianhuanhua baike (连环画百科 = Chinese picture book encyclopedia), which provides brief introductory articles about the Chinese picture book history, tradition, theories, techniques, and also a biographical dictionary of famous picture book artists.

Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines, on topics such as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform, were produced by both Kuomintang (Nationalist) and Gongchantang (Communist) supporters.

Hesburgh Libraries' collection of paper items (posters, picture albums, magazines, and pamphlets), and other ephemera (pins, badges, etc.). While a majority of the materials are products of the Cultural Revolution (1966-1976), also included in the Collection are non-political cultural items from the Republican Period (1911-1949), and from before and after the Cultural Revolution. Contact Rare Books & Special Collections (rarebook@nd.edu) or Hye-jin to learn about how to access the materials.

A database of Chinese posters from the collections of Professor Stefan Landsberger, the International Institute of Social History (IISH, Amsterdam, Netherlands), and anonymous private collectors. Suggested themes:
- Iron Women, Foxy Ladies
- Models and Martyrs

An open-access image resource, developed as a University of Bristol Department of Historical Studies project. Included are digitized images of photographs of China taken between 1850 and 1950 from several collections--in particular from Historical Photographs of China, the Sir Robert Hart Collection, and Joseph Needham's Photographs of Wartime China--and from Google Books.

To find Chinese videos in the Hesburgh Library, go to Advanced Search in the ND Catalog. Define Material Type, Language, and Search Scope as below, then enter a search term in any field.

On-demand, revolving streaming video for selected documentaries and theatrical releases.

A catalog of historical Chinese films, provided by Institute of Asian Studies (IrAsia). For most films, information includes plot summary in English. Many films are in the public domain and accessible through the site.

Provides citations on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide since 1971 in western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs (through 1991 only), chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. Updated regularly.

1. In "Search within Asian Studies," enter a search terms (lowercase) separated by AND (uppercase). E.g., Chinese film AND global
2. Add more search terms in the search box on the left (Search Within Results). E.g., zhangke (*No need to enter the full name, "jia zhangke" since "zhangke" is a relatively unique search term.)
3. If necessary, narrow the search scope by Publication Date or Subject.

Enables cross-searching among journals and books published by Cambridge University Press. Click here to limit your search to "Asian Studies."