Skip to main content

History, Western Europe

Overview

flag of european union

This Western European history guide provides the most relevant resources regarding topics related to the history, culture, and politics of modern Western Europe, especially with regard to major geographic areas of teaching and research at Notre Dame, including Britain, France, Germany/Austria, Italy, and Ireland. These resources cross disciplines to include such areas as gender, literature, film, film theory, archival theory, and religion to address the expanding research approaches and perspectives. 

Related subjects include: Byzantine StudiesCatholic StudiesClassicsGender StudiesGlobal AffairsHistory and Philosophy of ScienceHistory: United States and CanadaIrish StudiesLatin American StudiesMedieval StudiesPeace StudiesTheology and Religion.

For a primer on general research, review the Getting Started with Research guide.

Scholarly Resources

Article Databases

Books

Bibliographies

Theses and Dissertations

United States
European/Combined
Beyond Europe

Datasets and Full-text Collections

Datasets

Full-text Collections

European History - General
European History—Region/Period Specific
European History—Early Modern

Image and Multimedia Collections

Hesburgh Libraries Special Collections Inventories

Manuscripts

Maps

Archives and Archival Resources

The archives below, despite some of the local-sounding names, contain materials related to European history. Many can be searched by keyword. Some have digital collections; others have only physical collections. More resources can be found on the Archives and Archival Resources Libguide.

Best Bets for Archival Research
More Resources to Locate Repositories
Archival Research Tool

Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspapers

Europe
Beyond Europe