Cultural Heritage - GE 30305 — Contemporary Germany - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

Cultural Heritage Institutes/Projects

Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa)
ifa is Germany’s international cultural and educational relations body, providing a link between practical issues arising in the field and the world of scholarship as well as the media. Site has a variety of resources especially for culture, foreign policy, and the visual arts.
Multicultural Germany Project
The Multicultural Germany Project (MGP) seeks to foster cross-disciplinary research that addresses Germany’s changing cultural identity in the era of mass migration, globalization, and European integration.
more...less...
Based in the Department of German at the University of California, Berkeley, we have promoted transatlantic exchange since 2001. While our focus lies on Germany, our research and activities contribute to broader debates on critical multiculturalism and nationalism in a post-national era, political challenges to nation-states, and social change in the face of migration and globalization. “Multicultural Germany” is not meant to demarcate a particular geopolitical zone or orientation but as a synecdoche, standing for the plurality of international, transnational, and intranational discourses of migration.

Digital Collections of Cultural Heritage

Austrian Literature Online
Digital library of over 15,000 books, journals, newspapers, manuscripts, theses,and scientific essays covering the eleventh century to present.

Bayerische Landesbibliothek Online
Digital collection of manuscripts, historic maps, newspapers, and other materials documenting the history and culture of Bavaria.

Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek
Database with unrestricted access to Germany’s cultural and scientific heritage, including access to millions of books, archived items, images, sculptures, pieces of music and other sound documents, as well as films and scores, from all over Germany.

Europeana
Direct access to several million digital objects: film, photos, paintings, sound recordings, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers. Selected from already digitized resources available in Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. French and German cultural institutions are particularly well-represented.

fotoerbe.de
Digital collection of hundreds of millions of photographs from German cultural institutions.

German History in Documents and Images
Contains primary sources (texts, images, and maps) that document the social, political, economic, religious, and cultural history of Germany from 1500 to present. The German site has the original German texts while the English site provides new English translations for all of them.

Leo Baeck Institute Digital Collections
Digital collection of manuscripts, photographs, books, art, and oral histories documenting the German-speaking Jewry from its origins to its tragic destruction by the Nazis to preserving its culture.