Speech Types - CSEM 23012 — Immortality - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

Informative

Informative Speech

An informative speech provides information about a specific subject to an audience. The aim of an informative speech is to help your audience to understand and to remember the information you are presenting. Your general purpose in an informative speech is to inform. Your specific purpose relates to your topic and to the specific information you want to convey.

An informative speech may be a five minute overview of an object or event, or a seminar covering an abstract concept.

Gale ebooks This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
CQ researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more, with a United States focus. Includes news covered in print issues of: Editorial research reports (1924-1986), Congressional quarterly's editorial research reports (1987-1991) and CQ researcher (1991-).
Gale in context. Global issues (formerly Global issues in context) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Preparing Your Informative Speech
Provided by Lumen Communications, a critical approach to developing an Informative speech is provided.

Persuasive

Persuasive Speech

Persuasive speaking is often the type of speaking that people engage in. This type of speech can involve everything from arguing about politics, to talking about what to eat for dinner.

CEIC Data This link opens in a new window
Database of macroeconomic time series data. Hesburgh Libraries' subscription consists of these databases: World Trend Plus, Global, Daily, Brazil Premium, India Premium, and China Premium. Topics include national accounts, construction and properties, financial and capital market, labor market, price levels, etc. Restrictions: Access is limited to 10 users at a time. Registration is NOT required.
Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new window
Analyze, visualize, and export data from Gallup's U.S. Daily tracking and World Poll surveys. Does not include access to microdata.

Data and Statistics about the U.S.
The United States Census Bureau provides data about the nation’s people and economy. Every 10 years, it conducts the Population and Housing Census, in which every resident in the United States is counted. The agency also gathers data through more than 100 other surveys of households and businesses every one to five years. You can explore the results of the surveys or find popular quick facts.Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.

Persuasive Speaking
Presented by Lumen Communications, this site provides a critical approach to the development of defining a persuasive speech which aims to convince an audience to believe a certain view.

Special Occasions

Special Occasion Speech

Special occasion speeches are often ceremonial or epideictic in nature. These type of speeches pay tribute or praise of a person, an institution, an event, and idea, or a place. Below are examples of: Commencement Speech, Best Man Speech, and a Funeral Speech.

Special Occasions
Presented by Lumen Communications, examples of Special Occasion speeches and ideas on how to approach this process is provided.

CSEM 23012 — Immortality

Instructor

Dr. Christopher Shields

(574) 631-0415

cshield3@nd.edu

Africana Studies & Education Librarian