Library Guides: ESTEEM: Market Research

Market Research

This page provides a curated list of resources that may be helpful in conducting market research.

Depending upon your market, they can help to determine the size of a market, current trends impacting a specific market, or consumer preferences surrounding specific brands and broad product categories.

Resources include expert narrative analysis in addition to quantitative data sets.

Recommended Resources

Gartner
In-depth, strategic analysis of information technology trends, vendors, products, and technologies. Market research reports on all aspects of the IT landscape including analysis, opinions, forecasts, leading practices, and case studies.

Technavio
Over 17,000 marketing research reports covering more than 100 industry segments and over 800 niche and emerging technologies.
BCC Research
Select MEMBER LOGIN at top right, and click IP AUTHENTICATE to access ND's subscription. Reports on emerging technology markets such as advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, internet of things (IoT), and nanotechnology.
Frost & Sullivan Research Services
Reports and market trends encompassing various technology, energy, and manufacturing-related fields. Very up-to-date information in a variety of innovative tech fields such as automation, artificial intelligence, cloud computing, and sustainable energy.
PitchBook
Company profiles, private equity, and venture capital data. The Research Center module located on the left hand side of the PitchBook interface provides access to a research library of market reports covering market areas that are trending in the venture capital and private equity space.
Statista
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on a variety of topics.
Mintel Academic
Popular consumer trends with daily updates on the latest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy. Market data includes size, segmentation and forecasts.
Forrester
Reports covering a range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, and telecommunications and their impact on consumers.
Passport (Euromonitor)
Notable for its international coverage. Includes information on 205 countries, their consumers, and markets, with extended data and analysis for 80 countries. With Passport, you can identify and compare statistics/reports for demographic, business strategy, market, consumer, industry, and company research. Notably there is authoritative time series industry data on the number of units moved through a geographic market by broad product category.
Sage Data (was Data Planet Statistical Datasets)
Statistical data on a wide range of topics produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. The data made available by this resource is very extensive and may apply across a broad range of topic areas.
SimplyAnalytics
Sign in as a guest if you do not want to create an account. Licensed for 5 simultaneous users.
A mapping application for creating professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the U.S. Notably provides select access to MRI-Simmons Local data outlining quantitative data for market segmentation and consumer behavior in the United States.
Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)
Licensed for 2 simultaneous users.
Provides access to academic technology reports, on topics including information technology infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, and technology vendors. Notably, this resource provides data on the cost of server storage for cloud computing by major companies such as Amazon.

ESTEEM

Need help? Ask a Business Librarian!

Librarians

Market Research

Recommended Resources