Company Information - MARK 20100/BASC 20250/MDMK 20100 — Foundations of Marketing (Jin) - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

Overview

These resources will help you with company-specific information.

Many of the databases on this page focus primarily on U.S. based companies. Regulatory requirements for reporting of U.S. companies generally results in more analytical information available on them. It is still worth checking for internationally based companies, but for companies headquartered internationally, you may want to focus your research on the companies web site, investor relations, or news oriented sources.

Company Profiles

These resources are your best bets for finding company profiles and other information. Mergent Intellect and Business Insights: Essentials are good places to start for an overview that includes location and contact information, basic financials, and industry codes.

Mergent Intellect
Provides access to private and public U.S and international business and company data, industry profiles and news, facts and figures, ratios, and executive contact information.
Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
Provides access to global business information, including company profiles, brand information, investment reports, rankings, SWOTs, professional associations, and industry reports.
Hoover's Company Records (ProQuest)
Provides directory information on public and private companies including location, competitors, summary financials, top officers and company history for public companies.
Gale Encyclopedia of Global Brands
If you brand has an entry in this publication, it will provide a good historical and contextual overview of the brand and its position in the market space. Not all brands are covered in the scope of this publication.
Factiva
Licensed for 5 simultaneous users.
Provides access to thousands of national and local newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. Includes latest issues of the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, Forbes, and many more news and financial publications.

Financials

In the absence of direct brand related data, it may be beneficial to look into the financial status of the company responsible for the brand. Sometimes this data can give indicators of brand performance or metrics that could be used to estimate the viability of a brand. This method of finding information generally works best when working with a publicly traded company as they generally report a high degree of information to the SEC.

Mergent Online
Provides company profile data such as financials, executive information, company description, 10-k's, and annual reports on U.S and international publicly traded companies and private companies. Our subscription includes access to Investext, which provides company and industry analyst reports from investment banks, consulting firms, and brokerage houses.

SWOT Analyses

Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats! A SWOT analysis is a great resource that gives you a quick overview of a company's strategic situation. Business Insights: Essentials offers SWOTs for public companies. Business Source Complete offers SWOTs for public and some private companies.

Not all companies have produced a SWOT analysis. This may be common when looking at internationally based companies.

Business Insights: Essentials
If your company is public, search for it by name or ticker symbol and then look for a link to 'SWOT Reports' from the results. Not all public companies will have SWOTs available.

Business Source Complete
Select 'SWOT Analysis' from "Publication Type."

MARK 20100/BASC 20250/MDMK 20100 — Foundations of Marketing (Jin)

The Thomas Mahaffey, Jr. Business Librarians

Librarians

Overview

Company Profiles

Financials

SWOT Analyses