Library Guides: International Management (Pannekoek): Country Profiles

Country Profiles

Resources on this page provide summary profile information on individual countries. These generally cover the basics of doing business in a particular country with narrative summaries of the following: economic indicators, demographics, political risk landscape, legal issues, safety, and more. Majority of these resources function best by simple searches by country name.

Cultural Scores and Profiles

Resources here each have different spheres of coverage for countries. If your country is not included in one, try another!

Britannica Countries of the World
Provides in depth country profiles covering the cultural, political, and economic landscape of nearly every country. Information varies by country.
Compendium Cultural Policies & Trends
Provides in depth cultural profile reports for 43 countries primarily in the European/Anglo regions.
Cultural Atlas
Provides an overview of various cultural concepts through the lens of interacting well with various migrant cultures.
Culture Smart! Series
A series publication which provides focused overviews of the culture and customs of a variety of countries. While the publication does not cover all countries, many are represented.
Globe Project
A unique large-scale study of cultural practices, leadership ideals, and generalized and interpersonal trust in 150 countries in collaboration with nearly 500 researchers. **NOTE: If the link displays nothing on your screen, click on 'The GLOBE Studies' from the menu choices at the top of the screen. Select 'Vizualizations of the 2004 Study.'
Hofstede Insights: Country Comparison Tool
Allows for the comparison of multiple countries by a ranking system which measures a country's culture by the following 6 categories: power distance, individualism, masculinity, uncertainty avoidance, long term orientation, and indulgence.
OECD Better Life Index
Index showing survey responses with which OECD member countries are ranked concerning quality of life in the minds of their general populations.

Political, Economic, Regulatory, and Legal Profiles

Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs: Investment Climate Statements
Publication analyzing the international investment climate. Allows for selecting specific countries for an overview of their investment climate organized by year.
CIA World Factbook
A publication from the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) documenting almanac style information on countries. Includes information related to country leadership, economic stability, political stability, and more.
EIU Country Reports
Unbiased, in-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends with an 18 month outlook. Quarterly and annual statistics with at least 150 data points picked from the most reliable sources and reviewed by our analysts to provide consistent, objective and impartial coverage. Equivalent coverage across over 195 countries worldwide, making it easy to compare national conditions.
Passport (Euromonitor International)
You must accept the Terms and Conditions to access the database.
Provides access to demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 200+ countries worldwide. Contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.
Political Risk Yearbook
Gives political and economic risk analysis. Each Country Report focuses specifically on political and business information: finding developing markets, determining currency movements, preparing for capital investments, or making judgments about corporate security.
Thomson Reuters Practical Law
Search "doing business in *name of your country*" and see if a report shows up. Provides coverage of the legal, regulatory, and tax landscape of some countries from a business perspective. Note that not all content is available in this resource.
World Bank Business Ready
A new publication as of 2024 from the World Bank providing economic profiles of various countries more focused on the regulatory framework of conducting business in an international context.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR)
Provides access to various collections of economic and international development reports from the World Bank.

International Management (Pannekoek)

Need help? Ask a Business Librarian!

Librarians

Country Profiles

Cultural Scores and Profiles

Political, Economic, Regulatory, and Legal Profiles