Library Guides: Irish Studies: Scholarly Articles and Books

Article Databases

These databases are collections of bibliographical citations, some with full text articles.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Project Muse : scholarly journals online This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.
Bibliography of British and Irish history This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The Bibliography aims to be as comprehensive as is practical for publications since 1900 and has been enriched by co-operation with other projects. Data from the London's Past Online project were added to the database in January 2003 and the first batch of data from Irish History Online was added in August 2004, with further batches from both projects being added later. From the end of 2006 the Bibliography has co-operated with teams working under the auspices of the Scottish Historical Review Trust which will henceforth edit the primarily Scottish titles in the database. All titles included in The Royal Historical Society Bibliography on CD-ROM (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1998) are included in the database (with the exception of unpublished theses). Usage info: Licensed for 3 simultaneous users.
Irish History Online This link opens in a new window
A bibliography and index of historical writing dealing with Ireland's history. It is a guide to the work of historians rather than to original sources, unless they have been edited and republished by historians.
MLA international bibliography (EBSCO platform) This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Humanities full text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Citations of articles, interviews, obituaries, and works of literature from up to 700 periodicals, with full-text articles from over 300 journals.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of scholarly articles, books, and essays on European and world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in: America: History and Life). Usage info: Licensed for 6 simultaneous users.

Sources
more...less...
Index to articles on Irish civilization, based on the multi-volume "Hayes Bibliography" from the National Library of Ireland.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window

Books

These resources will help you find e-books and print held by Notre Dame, other local libraries, or books held at other libraries worldwide.

Hesburgh Library Catalog

WorldCat This link opens in a new window

National Library of Ireland
The catalog of the National Library of Ireland and the Sources Database are only some of the resources in this website.

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.

Theses and Dissertations

These resources will help you find unpublished theses and dissertations, which present an author's research and findings as part of their degree candidacy or professional qualification.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.

Rian.ie Pathways to Irish Research
A portal for accessing the contents of institutional repositories in Irish university libraries.
CurateND
Repository for scholarship created by the university and digital or digitized materials held by the university library. Content includes electronic theses and dissertations, research data, scholarly articles, preprints, presentations, reports, digitized books and manuscripts, oral histories, and more. CurateND promotes Open Access and handles long-term preservation needs for these items. Some material is restricted behind Notre Dame NetIDs, login enables access to more content.

New In Irish Studies

Books recently cataloged and newly available in the Hesburgh Library:

Lysaght, D. R. O'Connor. From the GPO to the Winter Palace: How a workers' revolution was lost and how a workers' revolution was won. Irish Labour History Society, 2016. DA 962 .L97 2016
McDonald, Theresa. A Guide to Archaeological and Historical Sites on Achill, Achillbeg and the Corraun Peninsula. I.A.S. Publications, 2016. DA 990 .A3 M34 2016
O'Brien, Paul. Havoc: The Auxiliaries in Ireland's War of Independence. Collins Press, 2017. DA 962 .O27 2017
Regan, Nell. Helena Molony: A Radical Life. Arlen House, 2017. DA 965 .M55 R44 2017
O'Connell, Michael. In Search of Truth: British Justice and Collusion in Northern Ireland. Collins Press, 2017. DA 963 .O26 2017
O'Higgins, Laurie. The Irish Classical Self: Poets and Poor Scholars in the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries. OUP, 2017. DA 947.3 O35 2017
Banville, John. Time Pieces: A Dublin Memoir. Hachette, 2016. PR 6052 .A57 Z46 2016
O'Connor, Anne. Translation and Language in Nineteenth-century Ireland: A European Perspective. Palgrave Macmillan, 2017. PB 1214 .O26 2017
Lewis, Tasha. Illustrating Joyce's Ulysses in Eight Weeks. Bookbaby, 2016. PR 6019 .O9 U67449 2016
Joslin, Lyndon W. Count Dracula Goes to the Movies: Stoker's Novel Adapted. McFarland, 2017. PR 6037 .T617 D784 2017

Irish Studies

Catholic Studies Librarian

Article Databases

Books

Theses and Dissertations

New In Irish Studies

Irish Studies at Notre Dame