Library Guides: Joyce Sports Research Collection Manuscripts: Basketball

Basketball Manuscript Collections

Basketball-related manuscript groups held in the Joyce Sports Research Collection, Department of Rare Books and Special Collections, Hesburgh Libraries of Notre Dame. In addition to manuscript texts, the list includes other non-published formats with some claim to uniqueness, like scrapbooks and photographs. When available the brief descriptions are linked to finding aids with fuller information about particular collections.

Dr. Gerald Gray Corona Rolling Devils Scrapbook Collection, 1947-1948
The Dr. Gerald Gray Corona Rolling Devils Scrapbook Collection contains printed material and photographs documenting the origins of one of the first wheelchair basketball teams in the United States. The collection consists of an oversized scrapbook along with several folders of loose items. The assorted ephemera, photographs, and newspaper clippings in the collection document practices and games of the Rolling Devils and the plentiful press coverage the team received. Photographs include action shots, pictures of the team traveling, pictures of awards banquets, pictures of the players relaxing as well as team photos and portraits of individual players. Printed matter includes game advertisements, rosters, and telegrams. Clippings include game reports, profiles of the team, advertisements, pictures, and cartoons. MSSP 10069
Syracuse YMCA Basketball Game Program, 1894
1 item. A single sheet bearing the rosters of four basketball teams playing two games at the state armory at Syracuse NY, 11 April 1894. In the featured game, the Syracuse YMCA defeated the 41st Separate Company 12-11. Annotated in pencil. MSSP 5008-1.
Basketball Scrapbook, c1935-1950
1 volume, 28 cm., around 200 leaves, with around 400 pages of content. A scrapbook of newspaper clippings on men's basketball, mostly college. Much of the content consists of captioned photos clipped from New York papers, with many posed portraits and team pictures highlighting upcoming games at Madison Square Garden. MSSP 5009-1-B.