Joyce Sports Research Collection Manuscripts

25 cubic feet. Walter Wellesley "Red" Smith (1905-1982) was a Pulitzer Prize-winning sports journalist whose daily newspaper column, "Views of Sport," was widely syndicated in the decades after World War II. Smith worked for papers in Milwaukee, St. Louis, Philadelphia, and, most notably, New York, with tenures at the Herald-Tribune (1945-1966) and the Times (1971-1982). His columns provided material for five books, published between 1950 and 1974. The collection, donated to the Hesburgh Libraries by Phyllis Smith in 1987, includes: Smith's clipped copies of his printed columns, mostly 1954-1982; newspapers and magazines with pieces by or about Smith; clipped columns of Stanley Woodward and Joe H. Palmer; manuscripts and/or proofs of several of Smith's books; an accumulation of around 125 manuscript letters preserved by Smith; a group of around 180 photographic prints, many of Smith; and framed items, awards, memorabilia, and other realia from Smith's home office in New Canaan, Connecticut. A personal library of about 1,000 volumes has been cataloged for the Rare Books collections. MSSP 10061

Nathaniel S. "Nat" Fleischer (1887-1972) was a sports journalist who founded The Ring magazine—the "Bible of Boxing"—in 1922 and remained as editor and publisher for fifty years. He also wrote more than fifty books on boxing and wrestling, and compiled what was for decades boxing's definitive reference, the annual Ring Record Book. These papers consist mainly of typed manuscripts of Fleischer's boxing articles, serialized features, and books; several of the latter appear never to have been published. Some of these typescripts are earlier drafts; some bear handwritten notes and emendations. Among the other items in the collection are four personal scrapbooks of clipped articles and manuscript correspondence; two photo albums, recording a 1954 trip to Thailand and a trip to the 1956 Olympics; typewritten indices for The Ring; and a great variety of clippings and clippings files. MSSP 2003

This collection consists of the personal and professional papers of Stanley Weston, sportswriter and owner of The Ring Magazine. The bulk of the collection is a series of subject files assembled by Weston on over two thousand boxers and boxing-related subjects. Also included is an incomplete run of clippings on boxers from the 1950s. Weston’s papers also include research files on various sports, articles he authored, and magazine covers he designed. Finally, also included in Weston’s personal papers are legal records, correspondence, photographs, and Weston’s military records. MSSP 10062

The ESPN Promotional Posters Collection contains six promotional posters printed in about 1982 for the television network ESPN. Each full-color poster depicts a different sport televised by ESPN. The bottom of each poster features the tagline “The Total Sports Network” and the logo for ESPN. MSSP 10084

1 vol., 41 cm., 49 leaves, with 97 pages of manuscripts, clippings, and ephemera tipped and laid in. A.V. Taylor was a Williams College graduate and for 40 years a teacher of Latin at Barrington High School in Newark, New Jersey. He was also an avid golfer and angler who contributed to The American Golfer, Outdoor Life, and other sporting periodicals. Among the ephemera included in the scrapbook are items relating to his sports journalism, and to his publication Origines Golfianae (1912). MSSP 9000-1.