Kellogg Institute Developing Researchers Resources

Welcome! 

This resource guide is intended to support students participating in the Kellogg Institute Developing Researchers Program. We hope you will find this curated selection of campus resources helpful to you as you expand your research skills and work with faculty members. View the March 4, 2024, Library Resource session slides. To suggest revisions or additions, please email jvecchio@nd.edu.

• Recommended Resource Direct link to the Educational & Research Opportunities section of The Week at ND
   
• Notre Dame Event Calendar
   
• Recommended Resource Hesburgh Libraries Events (includes Navari Family Center for Digital Scholarship sessions)
   
  • Subscribe to the Libraries events newsletter (automatic digest email of the titles of the upcoming 2 weeks of events and workshops is sent every Sunday to subscribers; unsubscribe any time): library.nd.edu/email/events/subscribe.
     
  • Get in touch with us if you are interested in a workshop but unable to attend or you don't see it on the list of topics. We can schedule a custom session for small groups of people with enough notice! 
     
• Recommended Resource Lucy Family Institute for Data & Society Events (includes Center for Social Science Research sessions)
   
• Updated Information 2023-09-25 GIS Workshop Notes: If the timing of workshops offered by the Libraries or Lucy Family Institute does not fit your availability, below are asynchronous/self-paced workshop materials that may be helpful to review. 
   
  • ArcGIS Online Workshop: https://github.com/ndlib-cds/ArcGIS-Online-2022
     
  • ArcGIS StoryMaps Workshops: https://github.com/ndlib-cds/ArcGIS-StoryMaps-2022 or libguides.library.nd.edu/making-storymaps
     
  • Carpentries Workshop recordings, materials, and notes (look for GIS 2021-03-15): https://libguides.library.nd.edu/carpentries/session-resources
     
  • GIS EdX Course: https://libguides.library.nd.edu/gis

Specialty Hardware

• Technology Lending: View our walk-up and reservable equipment; includes a link to the OIT equipment lending page.
   

• Transcription Pedal & Software: How to reserve and use a transcription pedal to type audio/video captions or transcriptions hands-free.

Specialty Software Tools & Tutorials

• Recommended Resource Campus Software Availability Maps: View open computer lab seats; hover over a seat to view software installed on that station.

  • Direct link to the Hesburgh Library Specialty Computer Labs map

  • Direct link to the Navari Family Center for Digital Scholarship Computer Lab map

  • HL/NFCDS Specialty software list

• Recommended Resource Carpentries Workshop Materials: Work through past workshop curricula at your own pace; sign up for upcoming live sessions by visiting library.nd.edu/events. TUTORIAL

• Data Analysis with Stata TUTORIAL

• Designing Documents with LaTeX (Note: There is a campus LaTeX user Google Group (LaTeX-users-list@nd.edu) intended to serve as a community/peer support forum.) 

• Geographic Information Systems (additional sessions, such as "Geospatial Raster and Vector Data with R" available on the Carpentries guide linked above) TUTORIAL

• Legacy Technology Collection

• Open Science Framework: Sign up to use the Open Science Framework, a free, open platform to support research/collaboration. (example OSF project)

• Recommended Resource ORCID: Sign up for your free ORCID, which provides a persistent digital identifier (an ORCID iD) that you own and control, and that distinguishes you from every other researcher. You can connect your iD with your professional information — affiliations, grants, publications, peer review, and more. (example profile)

• Recommended Resource Udemy: free Notre Dame access to online learning modules on a variety of topics.

• Recommended Resource SAGE Explorer: “Although the Hesburgh Libraries have long subscribed to Sage journals and a few of its products, the Sage Explorer program gives Notre Dame researchers unlimited access to nearly all Sage content,” Robison said. “For example, the Sage Research Methods database now includes hundreds of additional datasets, videos and handbooks, offering students crucial support in learning how to conduct research. Also, this program opens access to thousands of additional e-books within Sage's Academic Books and Reference collections. Other content Sage Explorer provides is new to Notre Dame users, such as the tutorials and interviews within Sage Video and the full-length courses available through Sage Campus.”

• Recommended Resource Career Center Opportunities to Develop Your Skills: Best tip—"Sign up for one of Notre Dame’s OIT IT courses - all students are welcome.  If 5 or more students would like a certain course,  the department will set up a special time for them that fits their schedule!"

• Citing & Managing Sources: Try out Mendeley, RefWorks, or Zotero—these free products are immeasurably helpful in increasing your efficiency when writing research papers and organizing your literature. 

• How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography 

• Multimedia Resources: View options for recording and editing multimedia files.  

• Qualitative Research: View a curated list of resources related to furthering qualitative research projects, including library resources, campus centers/institutes, technology, and more. 

• Recommended Resource Remix.nd.edu: Step-by-step instructions for completing a variety of multimedia projects (including conference posters, podcasts, and more). TUTORIAL

• Research Data Services: View library resources and suggestions for ensuring your research data is findable, accessible, interoperable, and reusable.

• Request a Library Research Consultation 

• Scanning and Editing Scans TUTORIAL

• Starting Your Research 

• Subject Librarian List

Is there a single location where we can see a list of all the different types of newspaper, magazine, etc., resources we have access to via our ND library accounts (e.g., New York Times, the Economist)?

• There is not an existing resource that does this (it's complicated, and has to do with licensing/subscription technology, among other challenges), but below please find information about access to some frequently-requested titles; feel free to contact me with other titles of interest--I'm happy to update this list!
   
  • New York Times
    • individual subscription provided by Student Government
       
    • the SJCPL has information on accessing it online in the "designed for digital" format via the SJCPL digital access link (see below for information on getting a card)
       
  • The Economist: full text of current and past issues can be accessed through various third-party vendor databases; go to the Access Online tab in this title's catalog record
     
  • Wall Street Journal   
     
  • Washington Post: the SJCPL has information on accessing it online in the "designed for digital" format via the SJCPL digital access link (see below for information on getting a card)
     
  • Other newspaper links (e.g., Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, as well as international titles) are available on the Newspapers Library Guide
     
• As a student residing in the county during your time here, you can apply for a St. Joseph County Public Library card for free. You can then access their digital holdings for free using the Libby app (e-books and audiobooks), Flipster app (e-magazines) and other tools, and get physical books delivered here to the Hesburgh Library, as well. (They have a number of popular resources that we do not have (e.g., Consumer Reports) that you can use for free with your card/account login.)
   
• Here is a link to a presentation slide deck with tips and tricks for accessing library and information resources after graduation. It highlights some resources that may be of interest to you even while you are here. A few potential tips of interest:
   
  • A browser extension that checks for books in the library systems you add to the extension (so if you're on Amazon, it'll automatically display if the item is available for free in the libraries you have access to) (slide 25)
     
  • Adding "simple" to wikipedia URLs for very simplified summaries of article topics when you're trying to get up to speed on a new area (slide 54)

Is there a software on campus that performs Optical Character Recognition (OCR)?

• If you're scanning physical pages on a library scanner, there is an OCR option on the scanners to ensure the files you receive will already be searchable (here are "how to" slides from a recent scanning workshop).
   
• If you have digital files, you can access Acrobat DC Pro on campus cluster workstations, or ABBYYFineReader on a NFCDS computer cluster workstation (Windows dual-monitor machines) or via an online session. 
   
• If you have documents in another language, ABBYY won't translate them, but a colleague confirmed for me that ABBY does have OCR support for other languages, so you could still get the text recognized by the software. (They also confirmed that although not perfect, Google Translate has worked for them in conjunction with ABBYY for general comprehension purposes.) The ABBYY FineReader support page has links to video and text tutorials for common tasks and questions.