Library Guides: Music: Recordings

Audio

Databases
Using Naxos

The following resources provide streaming access to a wide range of classical, jazz, and world music.

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to thousands of classical music CDs, with access to the catalogs of various music labels. Includes jazz, film music, and opera libretti and synopses. Search by composer, work, label, and keywords.
Classical music library This link opens in a new window
Online music audio collection "includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera."--About.
Music online This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches audio, video, scores, and full-text reference content: African American music reference; American song; Classical music in video; Classical music library; Classical music reference library; Classical scores library; Contemporary world music; Dance in video; Garland encyclopedia of world music online; Jazz music library; Opera in video; and Smithsonian global sound for libraries.
Naxos Music Library. Jazz This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to recordings of jazz legends and contemporary jazz from thousands of CDs. Search by artist, composer, work, and keywords.

Tips for using Naxos Music Library:

Browse, don't search.

Use the composers tab at the top of the page just below the search bar. This allows users to browse a list of composers, view multiple works by the same composer, and easily locate all the different versions of the same work and arrangement in the Naxos library. This interface may also provide biographical information on the composer, general information on a specific piece, and sometimes even program notes.

Use the Mobile App.

Want to listen on the go? Search your app store for the Naxos app and Notre Dame University users can sign up for a free account to have access to the extensive Naxos library wherever you go. See the Mobile App tab for more information

Video

These resources will help you find videos of operas, ballets, concerts, and other performances. There are also documentaries and interviews related to music and other performing arts.

Berliner Philharmoniker digital concert hall This link opens in a new window
The virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. Here you can experience the orchestra performing live at the Philharmonie in Berlin in more than 30 broadcasts every year. Just a few days after each broadcast, a recording of the concert is then available to watch in the archive. Also includes music-related documentaries and interviews.

**Access limited to 1 simultaneous user.
**Users must create an individual account.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of 600+ performances of orchestral and chamber music, operas, and more, from leading festivals and music venues.
Naxos video library This link opens in a new window
A performing arts video collection with over 1,100 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. Includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, EuroArts, among others.
Classical music in video This link opens in a new window
Searchable database containing performances and masterclasses captured on video in all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Met Opera On Demand This link opens in a new window
Met performances in various formats, including live in HD. Includes telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s and radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
Opera in video This link opens in a new window
"... will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. ...browse by composer, genre, performer, ensemble, time period, and role. ... searchable narration and transcripts; embeddable links..."--About. Usage info: Licensed for 3 simultaneous users.
Dance in video This link opens in a new window
Searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions, documentaries, editorials, interviews, performances and editorials by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.